Books Reviewed in 2011

Somehow, I managed to read a total of sixty-one books this year. It’s still not as much as I’d hoped – I wanted to reach seventy-five – but I’ll take it. I also did some book-related ink slinging, which resulted in thirty-three book reviews and a burnt-out brain.

Originally, I figured I could churn out a review every single week; and I was doing pretty well with that goal until I figured out that I was mortal, and that mortals have to take a breather every now and then. Bummer. I assume every aspiring writer gets hit with that 2×4 every so often, which is a good thing – otherwise, we’d all be extinct.

  1. No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
  2. Lone Survivor by Marcus Lutrell
  3. Tactics by Gregory Koukl
  4. Three Men in a Boat by Jerome K. Jerome
  5. Deception by Randy Alcorn
  6. The Voyage of the Armada by David Howarth
  7. The Martian Chronicles by Ray Bradbury
  8. The White Company by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  9. A Call to Prayer by J.C. Ryle
  10. The Terminal Man by Michael Crichton
  11. The Hunt for Red October by Tom Clancy
  12. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
  13. To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis
  14. We Die Alone by David Howarth
  15. Alas, Babylon by Pat Frank
  16. The Day of the Triffids by John Wyndham
  17. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  18. The Christian Life by Sinclair Ferguson
  19. Robopocalypse by Daniel H. Wilson
  20. Think by John Piper
  21. To End All Wars by Ernest Gorden
  22. Pyramids by Terry Pratchett
  23. After America: Get Ready for Armageddon by Mark Steyn
  24. Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
  25. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
  26. Band of Brothers by Stephen Ambrose
  27. All the Pretty Horses by Cormac McCarthy
  28. Red Rain by Aubrey Hansen
  29. The Passage by Justin Cronin
  30. The World-Tilting Gospel by Dan Phillips
  31. Knox’s Irregulars by J. Wesley Bush
  32. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy by John Le Carre
  33. Christ and Him Crucified by Jon Cardwell

15 thoughts on “Books Reviewed in 2011”

  1. Wow. For me to be on a list with the likes of J.C. Ryle, Sinclair Ferguson, Dan Phillips, and Sir Aurthur Conan Doyle, just to name a few, is an honor that has never happened to a kid like me… ever.

    Thanks again, I.S., for everything.

  2. Waugh! Good on ye son! I wuz afeerd da flatheads or apachees had took ya and dun lifted yer topknot! Glad fer ya … keep yer face in de wind and keep a eye on yer backtrack! Huzzah!!!

  3. Mortal you may claim to be, sir. But reading sixty-one books is (in my opinion) phenomenal. Being able to write 33 (decent) reviews isn’t too shabby either. Now I actually want to read most of the books you listed above (next year, of course). Here’s hoping I manage all 33 of them! :)

    1. Why, thank you, Ink Smith! :) I don’t recommend all of the books (Robopocalypse and The Terminal Man were both duds), but most of the time, the books I review are ones I recommend. I hope you get to read some of them next year!

      Oh, and I like your name… for obvious reasons. :D

  4. Son, this is awesome! I’m thankful for your love of books, and more importantly, your love for His Word. May God pour out grace upon grace on you, that you would glorify Him in all you do and read and write and think and say….

Leave a comment