2013 Year In Review: Fiction

49673208421140470493410210

Top Ten:

1. THE NAPOLEON OF NOTTING HILL by G.K. Chesterton
2. ISLAND OF THE WORLD by Michael O’Brien
3. THE CROSSING & CITIES OF THE PLAIN by Cormac McCarthy
4. THE BROTHERS KARAMAZOV by Fyodor Dostoevsky
5. JANE EYRE by Charlotte Bronte
6. ANNA KARENINA by Leo Tolstoy
7. THE CHILDREN OF MEN by P.D. James (review)
8. WOOL by Hugh Howey (review)
9. CORALINE by Neil Gaiman (review)
10. THE BALLAD OF THE WHITE HORSE by G.K. Chesterton

Honorable Mentions:

11. OLD MAN’S WAR by John Scalzi (review)
12. BEOWULF: A NEW VERSE RENDERING by Douglas Wilson (review)
13. OF MICE AND MEN by John Steinbeck
14. CELL by Stephen King
15. DEADRISE by Robert Whitehill (review)

9 thoughts on “2013 Year In Review: Fiction”

  1. Yay for you reading The Ballad of the White Horse and the Island of The World this year! That makes me happy :)

    The Children of Men sounds very interesting. I’ll have to put that on my list.

  2. I’m really liking the selection you have here, Corey. ;) And I have Brothers K, Coraline, and Anna Karenina on my list for next year.

  3. Most regrettably, for years I didn’t read any fiction. These days, however, I’m finding that maybe a third of my reading should be good fiction. And lists like these are helpful for me. Thanks, Cory!

  4. The daughter and I will be reading Chesterton’s Ballad of the White Horse when our next term starts. So, I’m encouraged to see it made your list!

    Brothers Karamazov is on my personal list for this year. With all of my “mom reading” to do, it may be all I get read for a while, but I’m determined!

  5. It is most humbling to find DEADRISE included on this august list of works, and to find myself among real greats. Knowing how stringent your standards are, Corey, makes this notice all the more joyful a way to round out 2013.
    Wishing you a marvelous 2013,
    Robert Blake Whitehill

Leave a comment