On the Bookshelf XVI

book_shelf_11

W1CK by Michael Bunker & Chris Aswalt
Borrowed this one from the Kindle library at the recommendation of a friend. Post-apocalyptic fiction is a favorite genre of mine, but this book describes itself as “pre-apocalyptic” – a thriller that sets the stage for the “social, economic, and structural collapse of Western Civilization.” Bring it on.
At the Mountains of Madness and Other Weird Tales by H.P. Lovecraft
Deadly cats, multi-eyed protoplasmic entities, time-traveling body snatchers, and *cough* huge albino penguins. You’ve gotta hand it to him: when it comes to things weird, creepy, and grotesque, Lovecraft’s imagination is virtually unrivaled. I’m still trying to decide if that’s a good thing or not.
The Iliad by Homer
Not entirely sure why it took me this long to pick up Homer’s work, but I’m glad I finally did. But you probably knew I’d say that. I’m using the translation by Edward George Geoffrey Smith Stanley, and so far, it’s every bit as epic as his name.
Reformed Is Not Enough: Recovering the Objectivity of the Covenant by Douglas Wilson
“Multitudes of faithless, corrupt Christians show that they do not believe what God said at their baptism. They live like adulterous husbands. But the tragedy is that many conscientious conservative Christians also do not believe what God said at their baptism.” Regardless of whether you agree with every little thing he writes, Wilson seldom fails to challenge, engage, and edify. I’m excited to dig into this one.
Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand
I’ll be honest: this book scares me. I don’t think I’ve said that of any other book, but it’s certainly true of this one. Something about reading a thousand-page novel centered on Objectivism makes my blood run cold. But read it I shall. It’s considered “a classic” by many, and I want to know why. (The fact that it was a key influence in the development of my favorite game is simply an added bonus.)

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

7 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XVI”

  1. I’ll be looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Atlas Shrugged.
    I’ve been wanting to read The Iliad myself, although I confess I’ve been tempted to pick up the Stephen Mitchell translation.
    In regard to the post-apocalyptic genre, One Second After is still probably the best I’ve read so far, but W1CK looks interesting…
    -Ben

    1. I need to read One Second After – it’s been on my reading list for awhile, but I still haven’t picked it up yet. Two of my favorite post-apocalyptic stores are Alas, Babylon and The Road.

  2. Never woulda guessed you’re a Bioshock fan, but now that you mention it, it makes total sense that you would be! Yeah, Atlas Shrugged‘s influence on the Bioshock series is very apparent; definitely worth a read from any fan!

    1. Glad to hear it. I friend introduced me to Bioshock last summer, but I only recently bought it for my computer. Rapture has got to be one of the most brilliantly-imagined worlds I’ve ever seen in a game (or a movie, for that matter).

  3. Not long ago I started on Rand’s Fountainhead, since that came first. After that I’ll read Atlas Shrugged, which reminds me… I totally want to play Bioshock now.

Leave a comment