Reading Goals for 2012

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Northanger Abby by Jane Austen
1984 by George Orwell
Brave New World by Alduos Huxley
The Death of Ivan Ilyich by Leo Tolstoy
Catch 22 by Josef Heller
To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Black Hawk Down by Mark Bowden
Public Enemies by Bryan Borrough
Charles Hodge by Paul C. Gutjahr
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Mornings On Horseback by David McCullough
History of the American People by Paul Johnson

 

Practical Religion by J.C. Ryle
God Is by Douglas Wilson
Why We’re Not Emergent by Kevin DeYoung & Ted Kluck
The Wages of Spin by Carl Trueman
Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl by N.D. Wilson
The Closing of the American Mind by Allan Bloom
Wordsmithy by Douglas Wilson
Christian Love by Hugh Binning

World War Z by Max Brooks
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein
The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

 

The Border Trilogy by Cormac McCarthy
Doc by Mary Dorothea Russell
Shogun by James Clavell
Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
The Karla Trilogy by John Le Carre
The Bourne Identity by Robert Ludlum
Clear and Present Danger by Tom Clancy

21 thoughts on “Reading Goals for 2012”

  1. Ah…a tremendous list, I see a lot of interesting titles here, and I very much look forward to reading your reviews on these as the year goes on. Very interesting indeed.

  2. That’s quite a list! I hope you’ll write some reviews, too. :-)

    I love To Kill a Mockingbird. One of my all time favs. I have The Closing of the American Mind. We’ll see if I ever get to it…

  3. I hope you get to them all. Gilead is the best book I’ve read in a long time. Catch 22 will have you laughing until you cry and can’t see to read anymore. Brave New World will give you the creeps because it’s already here, and Gatsby and Mockingbird will settle into your soul permanently. Let us know as you read what you think.

    1. I hope I get to read them all, too! :D That’s the thing with book lists, though – it’s easy to say your going to read something, but actually doing it is another matter.

      Glad to hear you loved Gliead – it’s currently my Mom’s favorite fiction book. :)

  4. That’s a nice long list! The only books that I reconize on there are “Crime and Punishment” and “Northanger Abbey”. I haven’t read the former, but I have read the latter. :D

    And I had no idea that “Bourne Identity” was a book. I had only heard of the movie. Was the movie based after the book or the book based on the movie?

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    1. The movies (which happen to be favorites of mine) were based on the books, written by Robert Ludlum. Naturally, I wanted to read the original since I enjoyed the film adaption so much. :)

      However, my best friend recently shot me an e-mail with a warning that the sexual content was quite high in the book – which is disappointing, since the movies managed to avoid that for the most part. Considering that, it’s very likely that I’ll strike it from my reading list and pick something else.

Leave a Reply

