Reading Goals for 2013

images-46

I like putting these booklists together each year. They’re not writ in stone – I generally tweak them as the year goes on – but they do give me an idea of what to shoot for. So without further adieu, here’s a sample of my reading list for 2013:

The_Brothers_KaramazovLES MISERABLES by Victor Hugo
THE BROTHERS KARAMAZOV by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
THE SOUND AND THE FURY by William Faulkner
MOBY DICK by Hermann Melville
OF MICE AND MEN by John Steinbeck
ONE FLEW OVEW THE CUCKOO’S NEST by Ken Kesey
A CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES by John Kennedy Tool
CATCHER IN THE RYE by J.D. Salinger
THE CALL OF CTHULHU AND OTHER DARK TALES by H.P. Lovecraft
AnathemTHE YELLOW BIRDS by Kevin Powers
CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER by Tom Franklin
HOME by Marilynne Robinson
DANDELION WINE by Ray Bradbury
MYSTIC RIVER by Dennis Lehane
CHILDREN OF MEN by P.D. James
ANATHEM by Neal Stephenson
NEUROMANCER by William Gibson
THE DARKTOWER SERIES by Stephen King
WOOL by Hugh Howey
OLD MAN’S WAR by John Scalzi
CORALINE by Neil Gaiman
200px-Ctl2CONSIDER THE LOBSTER AND OTHER ESSAYS by David Foster Wallace
LIBERAL FASCISM by Jonah Goldberg
JOHN CALVIN edited by Burk Parsons
UNBROKEN by Laura Hillenbrand
THE GRAY MATTER by Dr. David Levy
ACCOMPANIED BY ANGELS by Lucy Shaw
WHERE THE SIDEWALK ENDS by Shel Silverstein
HAVING DECIDED TO STAY by Bryana Johnson
117981746INSTITUTES OF THE CHRISTIAN RELIGION by John Calvin
BONDAGE OF THE WILL by Martin Luther
THE GOD WHO IS THERE by Francis Schaeffer
IDEAS HAVE CONSEQUENCES by Richard Weaver
THE FEMINIST MISTAKE by Mary Kassian
GOD IN THE DOCK by C.S. Lewis
THE CHRISTIAN IMAGINATION by Leland Ryken
PREACHING AND PREACHERS by D. Martyn-Lloyd Jones
THE CROSS AND CHRISTIAN MINISTRY by D.A. Carson
WHY WE LOVE THE CHURCH by Kevin DeYoung & Ted Kluck
UNPACKING FORGIVENESS by Chris Brauns
THE HOLE IN OUR HOLINESS by Kevin DeYoung
FATHER HUNGER by Douglas Wilson
FUTURE MEN by Douglas Wilson
GOD’S WISDOM IN PROVERBS by Dan Phillips
A SHOT OF FAITH (TO THE HEAD) by Mitch Stokes
THE CREEDAL IMPERATIVE by Carl Trueman
TOTAL TRUTH by Nancy Pearcey
HOLLYWOOD WORLDVIEWS by Brian Godawa

42 thoughts on “Reading Goals for 2013”

  1. Wow! Now that is a reading list! Keep us all updated! We will be looking forward to some good quotes as you post them!

  2. You have inspired me to make my own (visual) book list. Somehow, mental ones don’t seem quite as binding. :-D Les Miserables has been on it forstinkin’ever, but I loved looking through yours to get ever so many more ideas – I have stolen some. I hope you don’t mind. ;-) Here’s to a happy year of reading!

    1. Are you on goodreads yet? It really helps me to keep my reading lists in order. I highly recommend it and would love to see you over there someday! :)

  3. Another book to add if you like- Edith Schaeffer’s Forever Music- a tribute to her husband Francis and a tribute to Creativity and music. My Mom is reading it now.

      1. We got our copy for one dollar, hard cover, on Abebooks.com. 2.63 for shipping. I think it is out of print- not sure though. : )

  4. I have long wanted to read One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. It’s a great movie, and I’m told it’s narrated from the perspective of the big Indian in the story.

  5. Fascinating. I’m too impromptu to make a list, but I loved snooping at yours. :D

    Angel Fall by Coleman Luck is not on this list, though. Fix that! You said you would read it! *insistent face*

  6. Dear Inkslinger,

    Happy New Year! Thanks for the list.

    My only goal this year is to find a daily read through the Bible plan that I will actually FINISH! I will consider any you may wish to recommend:)
    Blessings to you an yours! charisse

    1. Hey Charisse! :) I highly recommend Professor Grant Horner’s reading plan, which you can download for free here. Following this plan, every year you’ll end up reading through all the Gospels four times, the Pentateuch twice, Paul’s letters 4-5 times each, the OT wisdom literature six times, all the Psalms at least twice, all the Proverbs as well as Acts a dozen times, and all the way through the OT History and Prophetic books about 1 1/2 times.

      Challies recommends it as well, and even though I only just started using it, I love it.

      Hope this helps, and Happy New Year to you and your family! :)

      1. Dear Ink, I am so excited! This may come as a shock, but I am really technologically challenged:) However, I was looking at the YouVersion Bible App. on my android and it is amazing! It actually has the Bible reading plans and you just choose the one you prefer (it does have Prof. Horner’s) and it will actually send you daily email reminders and tracks your progress!

  7. I notice that Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series is not on here. Why is an incredibly long 14 book series not on here??

    In all seriousness, awesome list. I’m fairly certain you read my mind, because half of those are on my list. I especially look forward to your review, (there will be a review, right??) of “The Brothers Karamzov”.

    1. Darn it! Jordan’s series should be on there, actually – I just forgot. I doubt I’ll get to the entire series this year, but I’ll certainly try to hunt down the first book.

      As for a review of The Brothers Karamazov… yes, I think you can count on it. :)

      1. Yes, that’s what I said, “I’ll just read the first book…” That plan failed epicly. :)

        Good, I look forward to it.

  8. Happy New Year!!
    Wow…this is quite the awesome reading list, Corey! I do believe I’m gonna have to add a number of these to my own reading list for this year :)

  9. That’s quite a list! I’m always concerned making a list longer than about one book long. ;) I’ve been thinking of picking up “Mystic River” as it’s cheap at the NOOK Store. Hmm…

    1. I read Lehane’s Shutter Island last year – great story, great writing, but the amount of language and the explicit sexual content were off-putting. I’ve heard Mystic River is his best work, so I added it to the list. Isn’t there a movie based on it?

  10. Looks like an interesting list for sure. I hate to be “that guy,” but I’m pretty sure Ernest Hemingway didn’t write Moby Dick ;) I’m assuming you’re just checking to see if we’re paying attention, right?
    Happy reading!
    -Ben

Leave a comment