On the Bookshelf IV

Cuba Libre by Elmore Leonard
Revolves around the Spanish-American War of 1898 and the Cuban fight for independence. I’d never read anything by Leonard up until now, but I think he may become a favorite. His talent for characterization, plotting, and dialogue is quite something.
Born Again by Charles Colson
In 1974, Colson pleaded guilty to Watergate-related offenses and spent seven months in prison. This memoir is the result: the story of a man who sought fulfillment in political power, only to find it in Jesus Christ. It’s good so far – honest, sincere, and thoughtful.
Salem’s Lot by Stephen King
Surprise: I finally picked up a book by Stephen King. I’m about a quarter of the way through it, and (minus a few content issues) I’m enjoying it. King is a much better writer than I expected, and I’m relishing the fact that the vampires are, y’know, bad. Take that, Stephanie Meyer.
All Things For Good by Thomas Watson
A magnificent examination of God’s providence in all aspects of life… written by one of those great Dead White Guys. Need I say more?
Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky
Dostoevsky’s classic story of murder and guilt, and incidentally, my second encounter with Russian literature (Tolstoy’s The Death of Ivan Illych was my first). I’m expecting great things, and I doubt I’ll be disappointed.
On Writing: A Memoir by Stephen King
Loving it so far. It’s an honest, autobiographical look at King’s formation and growth as a writer. Drawing from his own experiences, he has plenty of helpful advice to share; nuggets of wisdom like this one: “Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.”
Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
I generally try have at least one science fiction book going all the time. This one is already a favorite. Brilliant plotting, complex characters, and lots to think about. I sincerely dread coming to the end of it.
Road To Perdition by Max Allan Collins
Currently being shipped from Amazon. I’ve never read a “graphic novel” before, but I figure this is as good place to start as any. The 2002 movie (starring Tom Hanks) was gut-wrenching and profound, so I’m hoping the original will have just as much, if not more, to offer.

14 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf IV”

  1. Hey bro, great list. I’ve read a couple of Stephen King books myself. You gotta watch him for content issues, but he is definitely a brilliant writer. All aspiring writers could learn something from him :D

  2. Nice. I see you’re enjoying On Writing so far, I recently finished that, it was a great book. Know what you mean by “content” issues in his books, though.

  3. Ender’s Game, interesting. Definitely a lot to think about, though for me the ending ruined the “story”.

  4. I wanted to, but I made the mistake of letting my Mom read the book, and she was too disgusted by the language to let me read the sequels.

  5. A good friend of mine read “Crime and Punishment” and really seemed to enjoy it. I’ve had it on my list since then, but just haven’t gotten around to it yet. My “to read” list is about a mile long… :p

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

Leave a comment