On the Bookshelf XXXI

book_shelf_11

Othello by Shakespeare
Whenever I read Shakespeare, I kick myself for not doing it more often. So I’m trying to read at least one of his plays every month of 2015. Very doable, I think. Othello is terrific so far.

Mort by Terry Pratchett
Of all the fantasy worlds you can visit, Discworld is perhaps the funnest, and certainly the most hysterical. In Mort, Death takes an apprentice. It’s a great position – unless you have anything faintly resembling a love life. I haven’t laughed so hard at a book in ages.

How to be Free from Bitterness by Jim Wilson
“The world has two solutions. Keep the bitterness in and make yourself sick, or let it out and spread the sickness around. God’s solution is to dig up the root. Get rid of it.” A wise and helpful little read. I’ll return to it often.

A Passion for Books edited by Harold Rabinowitz and Rob Kaplan
A bibliophile’s smorgasbord. Essays, poetry, quotes – all spread out like jam on a supersized piece of toast. If you like books, and you like reading about books (and about other people who like books), then this one is a must.

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

2 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XXXI”

  1. My TBR pile did not need another Book About Books… but “A Passion for Books” looks amazing. As for my bookshelf, I’m in Randy Alcorn’s If God is Good and beginning “Bread and Wine, Readings for Lent and Easter” from Plough publishing house. The include all sorts of good stuff in their devotionals… think essays by Buechner and Dillard and L’Engle and Lewis, and poetry by Hopkins and Masefield.

  2. Just finished Doug Wilson’s Rules for Reformers, which is, of course, quite good. I am currently reading James White’s What Every Christian Needs to Know About the Qur’an (for the second time, as I apparently do not yet know everything I need to know about the Qur’an). On tap are two books related to abortion by Scott Klusendorf and a couple more addressing both theological and philosophical topics by K. Scott Oliphint (I highly recommend his Covenantal Apologetics). I should read a novel…

Leave a Reply

