I Want You All to Call Me Loretta

“Apparently Facebook just added 50 new ‘gender options,’ or something. From now on, I want you all to call me Loretta.” – Well Spent Journey (via Facebook)


LORETTA: “I want to have babies.”
REG: “You want to have babies?”
LORETTA: “It’s every man’s right to have babies if he wants them.”
REG: “But… you can’t have babies.”
LORETTA: “Don’t you oppress me.”

I can’t help but be reminded of this piece by Carl Trueman, from September of last year: “In his poem Marmion, Sir Walter Scott famously commented on lying as follows: ‘Oh what a tangled web we weave when first we practise to deceive.’ It seems that this line was never more apposite than when it comes to the plastic politics of contemporary sexual identity.”

 

3 thoughts on “I Want You All to Call Me Loretta”

  1. I think it’s awesome! It’s a great way for people to express such fundamental and sensitive issues with others – something that hasn’t been done before in social media and I think it’s important.

Leave a Reply

