On the Bookshelf XXIV

book_shelf_11

Killing Pablo by Mark Bowden
The story of Pablo Escobar, head of the Colombian Medellin cocaine cartel – and the sixteen-month manhunt that brought him down. If you’ve read any of Bowden’s other work (especially Black Hawk Down), you’ll know what I mean when I say this book is insane. No, really. It’s like a Tom Clancy novel… except that everything in it actually happened.
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I was skimming through a collection of quotes from this book when I finally decided just to read it again. Funny how that works, isn’t it? And I’m rediscovering just how quotable Adams’s writing is. For instance: “If there’s anything more important than my ego around, I want it caught and shot now.”
Father Hunger by Douglas Wilson
“Most of our families are starving for fathers, even if Dad is around, and there’s a huge cost to our children and our society because of it.” Two chapters down and I am thoroughly impressed. But then, when it comes to Wilson, I usually am. $6.40 for a paperback copy is a steal.
The Thrilling Adventure Hour by Acker & Blacker
I’ve been a devoted follower of the podcast for over a year now. It is, for dead certain, the most hilarious thing I’ve ever had the pleasure of listening to. The graphic novel hasn’t charmed me quite as thoroughly yet. Sure, the artwork is lovely, and the writing is superb – but without the actors to give it voice, it simply isn’t the same. Maybe I’ll warm up to it in time. For now, it’s just okay.

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

7 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XXIV”

  1. I currently have eight books I’m working through, some slower than others.

    Autobiography of George Muller: a Million and a Half Answers To Prayer . This book is 700 pages long, in small print. I couldn’t have better things to say about it. It’s full of examples of God’s provision, leaning on Him alone, and the importance of prayer and steadfast faith.

    Law & Liberty. (Rushdoony): This is a regular-sized volume, but oh! So packed with gold! I was actually well into it when I realized that I was not retaining the valuable teachings, so I went back to the beginning and began underlining, footnoting, and summarizing each chapter. Incredibly helpful as I seek to deepen my knowledge of theology, theonomy, orthopraxy, and Biblical law.

    Little Women. by L.M. Alcott: This is quickly hastening to my ‘favorite novels’ list. It has inspired me to be a better daughter-at-home, to use my talents to further my father’s house, to take joy in my family, and to find contentment in the situations the Lord has placed me in.

    So Much More. by the Botkin sisters. My dad and I are reading this one together. :)

    It’s Not (That) Complicated. (also by the B. sisters): this book has addressed some very relevant issues in regards to relationships with young men. It has helped me to understand the dynamics better, and to clarify how best to navigate what can easily become very difficult situations.

    There’s a couple more books I’m reading, but these are the main ones, and the most edifying thus far. :)

Leave a Reply

