On the Bookshelf XX

book_shelf_11
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
Richard Mayhew’s ordinary life is changed forever when he stops to help a girl he finds bleeding on a London sidewalk. This small act of kindness thrusts him into a world he never knew existed – the London Below, populated by all manner of strange and sinister beings. Seventy pages in, and loving Gaiman’s penchant for the bizarre.
The Collected Letters of C.S. Lewis, Vol. 1 edited by Walter Hooper
“… an inside perspective to Lewis’s thinking during his formative years.” Bought the Kindle edition for .99 during a sale. It’s a hefty volume, somewhat dry in places, but I relish the opportunity to learn more about one of my favorite writers (in his own words, no less).
Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett
“The world will end on Saturday. Next Saturday. Just before dinner, according to The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, the world’s only completely accurate book of prophecies written in 1655. The armies of Good and Evil are amassing and everything appears to be going according to Divine Plan. Except that a somewhat fussy angel and a fast-living demon are not actually looking forward to the coming Rapture. And someone seems to have misplaced the Antichrist.”
Face to Face by Steve Wilkins
Meditations on friendship and hospitality. I’ve heard excellent things of this book, and my Mom recently finished reading it, so now it’s my turn. From Chapter 1: “The clearest evidence that we live in a degenerate culture is the fact that we practice so little genuine biblical friendship.”
A Defense of Poesie and Poems by Sir Philip Sydney
Syndey’s work was referenced multiple times in The Christian Imagination, and the bits I read there were very good; lo and behold, with a little digging, I managed to find the entire thing in Kindle format. I highly recommend it, particularly to those inclined to view the reading and writing of fiction as little more than a waste of time.

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

13 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XX”

  1. Right now I have Ronald Reagan’s Autobiography waiting for me, along with “In the Name of Rome: The Men Who Won the Roman Empire” by Adrian Goldsworthy.
    -Ben

  2. So are you going to tell us if you like Neverwhere? It sounds interesting, but also maybe a little edgy for me.

    Since you asked! I’m reading some fun things (for me): Oak: The Frame of Civilization by William Bryant Logan; Ivanhoe by Sir Walter Scott (homeschool mom pre-read – another classic I never read), and John Piper’s Desiring God.

    1. I’m almost halfway through Neverwhere now. It’s like a darker, grittier version of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy or Alice in Wonderland – it’s a funny book, but Gaiman has a grim sense of humor, and some of the themes are fairly adult. The language can be rough, too.

      I love Ivanhoe. Such a classic. Another excellent Scott book is Rob Roy. You should check it out once you finish Ivanhoe. :)

  3. I’m boycotting Neil Gaiman right now, for personal reasons, which is not really a sacrifice for me since I’ve never even read one of his books. I probably will someday.
    Face to Face sounds interesting, maybe convicting.

  4. At the moment I’m working on The Complete Stories of Flannery O’Connor and just started Moral Man and Immoral State by Reinhold Neibuhr.

    Also, will you be doing a review of Angles in the Architecture? I really enjoyed it and would like to see what you think.

    1. Gotta love O’Connor. Such a brilliant writer and storyteller. Neibuhr’s book sounds like a good read, too – let me know what you think when you’re finished. As for a review of AitA… I’m not sure yet. I’ll take that request into consideration, though. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the book as well. :)

  5. Well Corey, everything on your bookshelf sounds splendid. As always :). You really do have quite the knack for finding new books. I particularly like the sound of Face To Face. Curious to hear what you think of Good Omens, too.

    On my book shelf currently – And sadly it’s rather bare at the moment – I have Angels In the Architecture (I really needed to re-read that one :) it had been too long). And The Plague Journal by Michael O’Brien. Also I’m starting Paradise Lost for school. And (if it EVER decides to get here….) Death By Living.

    Oh and I second the motion for an Angels in the Architecture review :). After all, you DID say it was the best thing you’ve read this year.

Leave a Reply

