Man of Steel

MV5BMjI5OTYzNjI0Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMzM1NDA1OQ@@._V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_
I’ve never cared for Superman. Until now. Man of Steel is a massive, deeply enjoyable, thoroughly epic retooling of the Superman mythos. The cast is nigh perfect. The story has heart (and brains to match). The action is purely and simply insane. Sure, there are a few missteps here and there, but these are easily forgiven in light of the film’s (considerable) strengths. A hearty thank you to Mr. Snyder and Mr. Nolan: the traumatic memories I have of Donner’s 1978 film are quickly disappearing.

“You will give the people an ideal to strive towards. They will race behind you, they will stumble, they will fall. But in time, they will join you in the sun. In time, you will help them accomplish wonders.”

(I’ll post a more in-depth review
on my movie blog Reel Quick)
5 thoughts on “Man of Steel”

  1. You can’t possibly understand how awesome the original movies (I and II) were in their time. They just don’t hold up anymore, though, and this one blew them away in every possible way, except possibly the score.

    1. You can’t possibly understand how awesome the original movies (I and II) were in their time.

      Haha, I know – that’s what everyone keeps telling me. :) I loved Snyder’s take, though; and Zimmer’s music was one of my favorite parts of the whole business. I’ve never understood the love for Williams’ score – it worked well for Donner’s film, but I think it’s far inferior to his work on Indiana Jones and Star Wars.

      1. I can’t claim to be objective about Williams’s score, as his music is pretty much the soundtrack to my childhood. But that’s part of growing up in the Williams era.

        One of my favorite things about this movie was the POV shots of Supes flying and hammering Zod. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

