On the Bookshelf XIX

book_shelf_11

The Christian Imagination edited by Leland Ryken
Featuring reflections by a host of great writers, including Tolkien, Lewis, Dillard, and Schaeffer. Pardon my slang, but I am totally stoked to be reading this. I’ve had it on my TBR list ever since Mrs. Pliego brought it to my attention during my visit to Mexico last year. I have a feeling my commonplace blog is about to get swamped.
The Reformed Doctrine of Predestination by Loraine Boettner
I’m forty-five pages in, and here’s what you should know: Boettner rocks. And yes, I’m taking notes like crazy. Here’s a favorite excerpt (just one of many): “God is no mere spectator of the universe He has made, but is everywhere present and active, the all-sustaining ground, and all-governing power of all that is.”
The Universe Next Door by James Sire
“A basic worldview catalog.” About halfway through, and thoroughly enjoying myself. Sire is a terrific writer and thinker; his chapter on nihilism – and specifically how it is the logical offspring of naturalism – contains some of the best writing I’ve ever read on the subject. Brilliantly done.
John Calvin: A Heart for Devotion, Doctrine, and Doxology edited by Burk Parsons
“Calvin’s name evokes powerful images, most of them negative. In the minds of many, he is perceived as an ivory-tower theologian who was harsh and unreasonable, the driving force behind a dangerous theological system. In this volume, Burk Parsons and eighteen other leading Reformed pastors and scholars authoritatively reveal the truth about Calvin and his teaching that he was humble, caring, pious, Scripture-saturated, and, above all, passionate about upholding the glory of God.” Heartily recommended.
Manalive by G.K. Chesterton
I’m on something of a Chesterton kick right now, having just discovered that many of his works are available for free on the Kindle. I just finished The Napoleon of Notting Hill (mind-numbingly brilliant), and once I finish Manalive, I’ll move on to What’s Wrong With the World? and Eugenics & Other Evils. Nothing like a little GKC to liven up your bookshelf.

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

9 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XIX”

  1. I love Manalive! One of my favorite Chesterton novels. I am in the sad position of not having any books on my shelf other than Augustine’s Confessions. I’ve been too busy with senior year, but now that I’m graduated, I shall speedily remedy this problem. :D

    1. Cheers! :) I’ll be finished this month – and I’m still trying to imagine what that will be like.

      Have you read Confessions before? I read it earlier this year and was blown away. One of the most beautiful things I’ve ever read.

      1. It’s really weird. But awesome. :)

        I did read it a couple years ago, but I b blew through it too fast, now I get through about a paragraph and then have to stop so t he beauty doesn’t overwhelm me. :D

Leave a Reply

