A Beautiful Problem

When the second Sunday of May comes rollin’ around – and you’re as blessed as I am in the Mom Department – it can tempting to think that the written word is an adequate medium through which to express your gratitude.

And then, when you actually try it… when you try to catch all of that gratitude and stuff it inside a paragraph, or two, or two hundred… then you realize something: it’s not gonna fit. Write your head off. Write ’til something breaks, be it your mind or your pen: there’s no way you’ll ever be able to say how deeply and utterly thankful you are for the mother God has given you.

That’s the problem I’m trying to cope with. It’s a beautiful problem to have, though, don’t you think?

I cherish a burning hatred of sentimentality, especially on days like this, but it’s not sentimental to say I owe my Mom so much I would run out of years before I finished telling you about it. If “no man is poor who has a Godly mother,” then I’m the richest kid on this freaking planet.

So I’ll just say this: Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. You’re the greatest. I love you. 

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Problem”

  1. {tears} Thank you, my dear son. Your words leave me humbled and thankful and in awe that God has let me know the joy of being your mother and the mother of your eight delightful siblings. I love you more.

Leave a Reply

