On the Bookshelf XVIII

book_shelf_11

All God’s Children and Blue Suede Shoes by Ken Meyers
Os Guinness’ recommendation: “A magnificent and timely book. Fresh, witty, informative, trenchant, and eminently sane, Ken Myers’s book is a must for thoughtful evangelicals… I only hope there are enough of them left to read it.” My second read through. Let me put it this way: if this book isn’t on your shelf, your library is incomplete.
Is Christianity Good for the World? by Christopher Hitchens & Douglas Wilson
Another re-read. It’s short, and best read in one sitting, but there are few things more entertaining than to watch Hitchens and Wilson go toe-to-toe in debate. This book also contains one of my favorite lines ever: “… for you to make this move would reveal the two fundamental tenets of true atheism. One: There is no God. Two: I hate Him.”
Lonesome Animals by Bruce Holbert
I was given a copy of this book in exchange for a review, so I’ll be posting my full thoughts within the next week or so. Holbert’s novel has been hailed as heir to such classics as True Grit and Blood Meridian – that’s quite a bit to live up to. I trust the hype won’t have a spoiling effect.
The Presbyterian Doctrine of Children in the Covenant by Lewis Bevens Schenck
An Historical Study of the Significance of Infant Baptism in the Presbyterian Church.” Don’t let the mile long title scare you; this is excellent reading. I’ll probably follow it up with Douglas Wilson’s To A Thousand Generations.
Neuromancer by William Gibson
Winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Philip K. Dick awards. Whenever a story opens with a line like this – “The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel” – odds are you’re in for a treat.
Future Men by Douglas Wilson
I love this book. I’m going to run out of highlighter ink before I’m even halfway through. “True masculinity accepts responsibility, period, while false masculinity will try to accept responsibility only for success.”

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

9 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XVIII”

  1. Currently?

    Studies In Perfectionism – B. B. Warfield

    For Calvinism – Michael Horton

    I just finished Needful Things by Stephen King and am not sure what my next fiction pick will be.

  2. I’m currently reading “Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East” by Michael B. Oren, and “Reconsidering TULIP: A Biblical, Philosophical, and Historical Response to the Reformed Doctrines of Predestination” by Alexander J. Renault. ;)
    Looking forward to reading “Follow Me: A Call to Die, A Call to Live” by David Platt, and “Life Together” by Dietrich Bonhoeffer.
    -Ben

  3. Ooh! I’m interested to hear what you think of ‘Neuromancer’

    On my bookshelf currently –

    ‘The Fairie Queen’ book 1 by Edmund Spenser (for Omnibus class). And about to start ‘Romeo and Juliet’ for class, also.

    Reading ‘Mrs Mike’ by Benedict and Nancy Freeman for fun.

    And…I think that’s it. At least for now. But I really want to read ‘Les Mis’ soon. I am planning on doing much more reading starting next month, because school will be out :) “FREEDOM!” (said in the style of William Wallace) ;)

    1. Spenser is a blast to read. I think you’ll enjoy his work immensely. I plan on reviewing Neuromancer when I’m finished, so keep an eye out… two eyes, as often as you can spare them… ;)

Leave a Reply

