People Tell Me, Or Semi-Serious Randomonium (Redux)

844629EMEJq0QI

To the Uninitiated: Parts 1 and 2 of this series can be found here and here.

People tell me we’re the most advanced civilization to come along since… well, forever. One need only consider our inability to hang toilet paper correctly on the roll to know this is not true.

People tell me that when the going gets tough, the tough get going. Unless they die. From a toenail infection. Or something.

People tell me I should wear a bullet-proof vest before heading into a gunfight. They clearly have not grasped the most fundamental purpose of chest hair.

People tell me the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. This could mean one of two things: 1) a man’s figurative heart is most surely won by good cooking; or 2) a man’s literal heart is most surely stopped by poisoning his food.

People tell me that absence makes the heart grow fonder. As someone once pointed out: if this is indeed the case, then a lot of people must really love the church.

People tell me that boys will be boys. And I think to myself, Duh, what else could they possibly be?

People tell me I should stop shunning Justin Bieber’s music and “just give it a chance already.” So I am – and it’s even worse than I thought. I need a band-aid for my ears.

People tell me Nicolas Cage is starring in the Left Behind reboot. I usually respond with Revelation 22:20: “He which testifieth these things saith, Surely I come quickly. Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus.” Preferably before this abomination arrives in theaters.

8 thoughts on “People Tell Me, Or Semi-Serious Randomonium (Redux)”

  1. Another good one that I’ve heard for #6 is,

    People tell me boys will be boys. Well I guess girls will be garbage then.

    (If we let boys just be boys, with no limitations, they probably won’t treat girls very well.)

  2. Three things :P
    1.) The woes of only having one brother, I was indeed unaware of the most fundamental purpose of chest hair, but I guess now I know! :P
    2.) Yes, if absence makes the heart grow fonder than maybe people really love homework too. Or possibly I’m just feeling guilty about procrastinating…
    3.) Ahem, call me touchy, but the boys could always be gentlemen…just sayin. :P sorry, I’ve had a lot of run-ins with jerks recently and the excuse invariably provided is some variation of boys will be boys. :)
    4.) Yes, I’m pretty sure it’s a sign of the End Times that such a thing as the Left Behind series even exists. :D

    Oh did I accidentally put 4 instead of 3? Sooo sorry. :)

  3. You gave JB a chance
    Where I come from, they calls that “Trauma”.

    (‘course I listened to about five seconds of one of his songs once just to see what people were puking about…..and I joined the gang lurching over the railing!)

Leave a Reply

