Modern Day Mr. Smith

1906_10151337225265197_23296160_n

Kentucky Senator Rand Paul continues his filibuster against the nomination of John Brennan to be the director of the CIA until questions have been answered regarding the constitutionality of drone strikes on U.S. citizens on U.S. soil without due process. Continue reading —->

This filibuster began at 11:47 ET – and it’s still going strong. Epic stuff. You can watch it live here. Meanwhile, as Paul and his buddies take a stand for liberty, other members of the GOP have chosen to dine with Pres. Obama rather than “Stand With Rand.”

Proverbs 23:1, anyone?

8 thoughts on “Modern Day Mr. Smith”

  1. Loved that Rand started a filibuster, it probably won’t get the statement he wanted, but it certainly raised awareness.
    I have to say, as important as Rand’s filibuster was, that doesn’t mean it’s a crime to go eat dinner with the president and try to solve the budget problems. :)

      1. I see your point of view, but let me put it this way: I just spent the weekend debating Social Security policy, and speaking on current events. I say this not to boast, but to explain my next point. Because of this experience, I find myself very understanding of the position of politicians, it’s hard. The people, they think they know everything, and they judge every single thing you do, while rarely allowing you to explain yourself. From the small experience I’ve had of what it’s like to be a politician, I’ve learned two things, never assume, and never judge. You don’t know what those politicians were thinking, what they talked about at dinner, what logical thought process they went through before they decided to attend the dinner. Could they have been wrong, absolutely, but, could they have been right? Have you talked with them? Do you know what went through their mind?
        Which is a long winded way of saying, yes, I’m nice, because I just stood in a politicians’ shoes for two days. Give me two weeks and I will no doubt be heartily in agreement with you, until of course my next tournament comes up. :)

        And, yes, I do believe politicians make mistakes, and yes I will happily judge them, after I’ve seen the evidence, after I’ve tried to understand their thought process etc… :)

          1. Bleh..I did not know he had done that. Okay, we can all get together and bash McCain and Co… as long as we’re bashing them for calling Rand a wacko bird, and not for eating dinner. :D

Leave a Reply

