Flotsam & Jetsam (2/19)

How To Abort Reformed Apologetics – From Dr. Joel McDurmon: “What is most likely to change any human being’s mind on any issue at any crisis moment? I will place my bet on the pronouncement of God’s Word any day, be it unpopular, considered unscientific, out of place, in bad taste, demeaned by other Christians, or whatever, for the situation.”

Precious Deaths – Beautiful words from Spurgeon, courtesy of Pastor Cardwell.

BPR: Toy Story 2 – A great review of this wonderful Pixar film. Toy Story 3 is will always be my favorite of the series, but the first two movies are classics in their own right. Besides, who can forget the insanely awesome “No, Buzz, I am your father” scene?

A Theology of Art in Five Minutes – Good stuff.

I May Be ‘Squishy’… – An excellent post from my Pastor: “There was once a time when I did a thorough reading in Book IV [of Calvin’s Institutes] on the ‘marks of the church.’ I was awestruck. Not by the depths of his insight, although they are pretty stunning. Not by the vast command of the body of Scripture, which may well define “vast.” Instead, I was overwhelmed by his gracious approach.”

Monsters University Trailer – A sequel to my all-time favorite Pixar film? Yes, please.

Book Review: Deadline – Randy Alcorn’s Deception is a book I love to recommend to friends in search of smart, well-written Christian fiction. Judging from this review, Deadline sounds like a winner, too.

“No man ever got very high by pulling other people down.” – Tennyson

3 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (2/19)”

  1. I may be “Squishy”…
    was excellent. My sister was just talking last night about that – how sometimes we run across someone who is a little less than gracious: “…the theological answers of Calvin are frequently somehow excised from the irenic spirit of Calvin’s theology.”
    This is a reminder I needed- to be Kind and Truthful.

    I am honored that my review of Deadline was included in Flotsam and Jetsam :)
    Deadline certainly made me want to read the sequels. I am now really looking forward to “Deception.”
    Was “Dominion” any good?

    Our review of Cold Case Christianity should be posted soon, as well. Two readers here have been sharing it. :)

    1. I haven’t read Dominion yet, but I own a copy. Just haven’t gotten around to it yet. :) You should definitely check out Deception, though; it’s one of those rare examples of modern Christian fiction done well.

      Looking forward to that review of Cold Case Christianity

Leave a Reply

