On the Bookshelf XIV

book_shelf_11

One Shot by Lee Child
This is actually the ninth Jack Reacher book, but I’ve been told it’s one of the best, and serves as a good introduction to the character. It’s excellent so far: better-than-average writing, smart storytelling, and a very cool protagonist in Mr. Reacher. I’ll be interested to see how the recent film adaption compares.
Institutes of the Christian Religion by John Calvin
“The pious mind does not dream up for itself any god it pleases, but contemplates the one and only true God. And it does not attach to him whatever it pleases, but is content to hold him to be as he manifests himself.” Currently number one contender for best non-fiction book I will read in 2013. Yeah, yeah, I know it’s only January. But still… I’ll be surprised if anything tops it.
The Creedal Imperative by Carl Trueman
I love this guy. Thirty five pages in, and I’ve already lost count of the passages I’ve highlighted. Terrific, terrific stuff. C.J. Mahaney’s endorsement is spot-on: “If the title of this book sounds boring to you, then it probably means you need it!”
The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Other Famous Tales by R.L. Stevenson
I’ve already read Jekyll and Hyde, so my focus is on the “other famous tales.” The Suicide Club sounds especially interesting. C’mon… you can’t tell me the title doesn’t intrigue you.
How to Read the Bible For All Its Worth by Gordon Fee and Douglas Stewart
“Understanding the Bible isn’t for the few, the gifted, the scholarly. The Bible is accessible. It’s meant to be read and comprehended by everyone from armchair readers to seminary students.” Very good so far, though I remain unimpressed by Fee’s arguments against using the KJV for study.

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

14 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf XIV”

  1. R C Sprouls’s children’s books, Lasting Legacy, Chucking College is on its way- and seven days ago I started the ten chapter a day Bible reading plan.

  2. I’m still working through Ten Ways To Destroy The Imagination Of Your Child. It’s so good I really don’t want it to end! I also have The Attributes of God by A.W. Pink for a ladies Bible Study coming up later this month.

    I hope you review the Fee and Stewart book :)

    1. I know what you mean – Ten Ways was such an incredible book I was genuinely disappointed when it ended. :) My Mom is reading Pink’s book aloud to us during the day… very, very good stuff.

  3. How to Read the BIble for All Its Worth was one of the books I used as a text when I taught Hermeneutics at Pacific Life Bible College several years ago – great book that examines the different genres of literature in the Scriptures, and gives many practical aids in interpretation. On my bookshelf right now I have “Today Matters” by John Maxwell, “Sun Stand Still” by Steven Furtick, “The Grace Awakening” by Charles Swindoll, and “Les Miserables” by Victor Hugo.

Leave a Reply

