Burton Gone Batty

Now that Christopher Nolan’s The Dark Knight trilogy has come to its monumental conclusion, I figured it was time to explore another director’s take on the Caped Crusader. It didn’t go as well as I’d hoped:

Tim Burton’s Batman is a strange animal: too dark to be enjoyed as pure camp, and too absurd to be viewed as serious entertainment.

Discarding the outright goofiness of the 1960s TV series, Burton takes a grimmer, gloomier approach to the Batman mythos. The result is both fantastically stylish and frustratingly hollow – a celebration of style over substance that dazzles the eye without ever engaging the mind or heart. Continue reading —->

4 thoughts on “Burton Gone Batty”

  1. My Dear Brother,

    Just wanted to thank you for the article because it has really helped me in some ways that you probably hadn’t thought.

    And although I would certainly not disagree with you in your comparison and assessment, neither would I disagree with Mr. Ebert’s (although too often, he is a critic behind his time or far too ahead of his time); nevertheless, I suppose I am a strange bird and too kooky to be a real cool cat, because my thoughts on the two different presentations cause me to ask, “Could the English speaking western world, and Americans in particular, have been able to appreciate the recent Batman trilogy back in the late 80s?” I think it would have overwhelmed the majority of us in the late 80s.

    For the most part, we were spoiled and superficial at best in the post-Reagan years. I believe that our heart and attitude then, generally speaking, influenced and propagated western Christianity to the state we have reached today; and although there has been a measure of repair, even a bit of revival, it has progressed to the extent from which I believe we still haven’t recovered. I was going to write more, but my silly comment may have raised more questions than necessary, and provided no real answers to satisfy. Hopefully, what I’ve written isn’t the pain medication talking, neither the cause of controversy.

    Lord bless you, dear friend. Please know that my lack of commenting is in no way reflective of my reading habits with regard to your blog. You are one of my favorite writers on the web and I truly enjoy what you have to say.

    ever in Christ,

    your older brother, jon

    1. You ask a very good question, Mr. Cardwell. Thanks for the taking the time to read my review and leave such a thoughtful response. :) You couldn’t write a “silly comment” if you tried.

      Know that you and your family are in our prayers. God bless! And Merry Christmas! :D

  2. “…too dark to be enjoyed as pure camp, and too absurd to be viewed as serious entertainment.”

    Seems to me this is Burton’s style, as most of the films I’ve seen by him fit this description. :P I am not that found of his style, as he tends to be “just creepy” where creepy has no purpose. I do like his Alice and Wonderland, although it’s creepier in places than it needs to be–believe it or not, Jonny Depp sealed that one for me. .) His rendition of the Mad Hatter is brilliance.

Leave a Reply

