Two Years

As of September 29th, 2012, the Ink Slinger blog has been alive and kicking for two years. I’m two days late acknowledging that, but I figure it’s okay – everybody forgets their birthday once in awhile.

I’ve said so before and I’ll say so again: I love to write. And this blog has been a superb outlet for that. As Augustine puts it, “I am the sort of man who writes because he has made progress, and who makes progress by writing.” I am also a Christian, redeemed by grace, and as such, I am commanded “to do all to the glory of God” (1 Cor. 10:31). Writing is no exception.

To those of you who have given me the time of day, listened to what I have to say – thank you. If there is anything of value in my writing, to God be the glory. I think you know who to blame for the screw-ups.

So in honor of two years of blogospheric ink slinging, I’m hosting a giveaway. Giveaways are, after all, a tried and true method of celebration. Everybody likes a giveaway.

Like last year, the rules are simple: to participate in the giveaway, all you have to do is leave a comment on this post, sharing the title of the best book you’ve read so far this year. Saavy? Do that, and your name will automatically be entered for the drawing.

Featured in this year’s giveaway is the best book I’ve read so far this year: The Wages of Spin by Carl Trueman. You can read my review here. The winner will receive one copy of this book. And since it will be shipped from the Book Depositoryyou can enter even if you don’t have a U.S. address.

The giveaway will end at 12:00 P.M. (Mountain Time) on Monday, October 8th. The lucky – or rather, providential – winner will then be announced.

I’m still concocting a sick and twisted punishment for the losers.

75 thoughts on “Two Years”

  1. Glorious Ruin by Tullian Tchividjian—best book I’ve had the privelege to read/review this year so far! (Just released TODAY for purchase, by the way) :) It’s a must read! And I love your blog, so pick me pick me pick me!!!! ;)

  2. Congrats on your two year blog anniversary Corey! :)

    Title of the best book I’ve read this year: it’s a close run between Xenocide by Orson Scott Card, Ender in Exile (also Card), Silvertongue by Charlie Fletcher and The Hitchhiker’s Trilogy by Douglas Adams.

    Sorry. Couldn’t choose.

    “I’m still concocting a sick and twisted punishment for the losers.” :P LOL YOU.

    1. I really need to finish the rest of the Ender series – I’ve read Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead, and both were absolutely fantastic. Douglas Adams’ books are pretty dang good, too. I read Hitchhiker’s Guide last year and almost died laughing. :)

  3. O yes! tchividjian’s book: Jesus+ nothing =everything … and the one I am reading: by Dan Phillips, The World TIlting Gospel :) so exciting! thanks!!

  4. Congratulations on two years! Best book I’ve read this year would be How Civilizations Die and Why Islam is Dying, Too, by David P. Goldman. Only, I don’t know if it counts exactly, as I only read the final 20 pages or so in 2012, having read the first 300+ pages in 2011. The best book that I read entirely in 2012 would have to be The Bruised Reed, by Richard Sibbes.

  5. Congratulations, my son, on two years! I’m so very proud of you. Your writing amazes and inspires me and reminds me of how gracious and merciful the Lord is to us. May there never be a time when you’re not using the gifts He’s given you for His glory. I love you.

  6. Congratulations on the two year mark!

    It’s hard to pick just one book that I’ve enjoyed the most this year! I’d probably have to go with Royal Company: A Devotional on the Song of Solomon by Malcolm Maclean.

    1. “It’s hard to pick just one book that I’ve enjoyed the most this year!” I know just what you mean. :) I dread the thought of compiling my annual end-of-the-year top ten list…

  7. Congratumalations on your second year! Sheesh, it seems like it wasn’t that long ago since you did your Year One giveaway. :D

    Oh boy. Let me see, now. I’ve pretty much lost track between books I read this year and books I read last year……and I haven’t done much reading for some time (now I deserve that sick and twisted punishment you mentioned). :D But off the top of my head, I’d say that my favorite book that I’ve read recently would be “Ten Ps in a Pod” by Arnold Pent. While I’ve read that one several times over the past years, I am always impressed in the vision, the unity, and the motivation that the book exudes. We relate strongly to some of the adventures and mishaps that are told of in the book, too, so I guess it hits home quite a bit for me! The only dislike I have is the Arminian side of his theology, but other than that it’s fantastic. ;)

    1. A good choice, CG. My family has read Ten Ps several times – it’s what you might call a family favorite, though Pent’s theology has a funky “smell” sometimes, if y’know what I mean. ;)

  8. CONGRATULATIONS! How fun to have a Blog Birthday :)

    My favorite book? Just one? Seriously?

    OK…

    Saving Leonardo by Nancy Pearcey, or The World-Tilting Gospel by Dan Phillips, or Knowing God by Packer… I think :)

    Blessings!

  9. I just started following but I like what I see.

    Best book this particular year would have to be “A Conflict of Visions” by Thomas Sowell. Serious mind-blowing on every page.

  10. Happy blog birthday, Ink!

    My favorite this year so far is Reformation: Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow by Carl Trueman followed closely by Toxic Charity by Robert Lupton.

    Please don’t put my name in the hat as I already have a copy of The Wages of Spin waiting in the stack to be read. :)

  11. Woo! *tosses cupcakes and confetti everywhere* Happy Birthday! Now go for three! :cool:

    Hum, best book I’ve read this year? Unfortunately I don’t think I’ve read any real showstoppers yet this year… :P Working on that! “The Telling” by Mike Duran was the best technically, but it isn’t memorable enough to be on my all-time favorites list.

  12. Congratulations, Ink! :D Here’s to the next three… Hundred… Thousand. Just to be extra hopeful. ;)

    Okay, good reads of the year! Let me see… A favourite standout was definitely The Way I was Made by Chris Tomlin on the non-fic side of things. Fictionwise, I’d say the Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld was the next best thing.

    1. LOL! Wow… three hundred thousand. Do you think I’m Elvish or something? ;) Tomlin’s book sounds very good – I read your review on ItB – and I’ve seen Westerfeld’s series in various bookstores. It’s sort of dystopian sci-fi, right?

      1. No, not Elvish, but I think the sky would turn red and the grass blue before you ran out of things to blog about. ;)

        Yep, the Westerfeld series is dystopian sci-fi. Pretty good read; I recommend them to people who like The Hunger Games, actually. ;)

  13. Happy Blog Birthday! It’s hard to pick a favorite this year, but the most meaningful one I’ve read is “Suffering and the Sovereignty of God”, a collection of essays by John Piper, Joni Eareckson Tada, David Powlison, and more. I’ve referred to it again and again. Second runner-up would be “Notes from the Tilt-a-Whirl.”

    1. Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl is one of the best things I’ve read this year, as well. I think the collection of essays you mentioned is on one of our bookshelves… somewhere. I’ll have to look for it. :)

  14. Congratulations! I love the quote from Augustine! Thanks for the offer but I’ll pass on the entry as I already have more books than I can read in my lifetime. May God continue to bless your writing.

  15. Congratulions, Corey, on being so faithful the past 2 yrs. in posting on your blog I’m very
    proud of you and what God is doing in your life. Love you and praise God for you.

  16. Happy Anniversary, Ink! I don’t want the book because I already have it, and I loved it! I just wanted to say what a great encouragement to me you have been since our paths crossed. Keep blogging for God’s glory!

  17. I would say congratulations, but everyone else has, so why bother…:)
    Also, very confused here, you want me to pick one book as the best? I”m not sure that’s possible, and anyway, it would severely hurt the feelings of all the other books I didn’t pick.
    Best non-fiction, For the Life of the World by Alexander Schmemann. Best fiction, The Wheel of Time series, at least the books of it that I’ve read so far. :)

      1. “… a fairly sick and twisted punishment would be to continue inflicting us with posts.” If I didn’t know you and your sense of humor… ;)

        I’ve heard many good things about The Wheel of Time series. It’s rather lengthy, isn’t it?

        1. I try…. :)

          It is very lengthy. 14 books each between 600 and a 1000 pages long. Excellent writing so far though.

  18. Congratz on two great years!
    The book I have found to be the most rewarding this year is “Delighting in the Trinity” by Michael Reeves. It is a delight to read and when you do, you will want everyone you know to read it as well. Don’t pass it up!

  19. Hi, congratulations! :-) Keep up the good work :-) !
    What I have read (in Hungarian – thank God, it has already been translated) is J.I Packer’s “A Quest for Godliness: The Puritan Vision of the Christian Life”. It is not an easy reading, but is definitely worth reading it. I loved it :-)
    God bless you and many happy returns of the day! :-)

  20. I just want to say that all your writings, the glory you give to God for His gifting you with such ease in word play and the diversity of your writings are fondly appreciated by me. I have read no books this year, as I confine all my reading to Scripture and study materials. Is that bad? :(
    :) Keep doing what doing and I praise God for your continuing walk with the Lord Jesus~!
    Stephanie

  21. The best book I’ve read this year is Game Six by Mark Frost. I know…not a “Christian” book. But still…best one I’ve read this year. By far.

    And I’ve enjoyed the short time I’ve spent at your blog.

      1. It’s a baseball book. Best one I’ve ever read. Frost takes game six of the 1975 World Series, between Cincinnati and Boston, and chronicles it, pitch by pitch, along with side stories about almost everyone involved, from managers to broadcasters. Wonderful book about what many people believe to be the best World Series game ever played. :-)

  22. As you are a bit late in posting your anniversary announcement, I am a bit late in getting over here to say hello and congratulate you (well, you have to near expect that these days because I don’t walk so well– been on crutches for almost 3 years and am beginning to use a wheelchair– if someone pushes ’cause it’s more tiring to wheel around than it is to use the crutches).

    Well, my young friend… your question will most likely be the same from me every year: The Pilgrim’s Progress was the best one I’ve read this year; Second best was The Holy War (although it could very well be number one because I’m gaining a real appreciation for this book, more and more). I may be wrong on my count but while I was laid up a few weeks ago, I tried to recollect and tally how many times I actually have read Mr. Bunyan’s very famous allegory. Well, I just turned 52 last August and I believe that I finished my 52nd reading of The Pilgrim’s Progress in the middle of August. It’s my favorite book outside of the Bible and unless another Bunyan or Spurgeon comes along and just WOWs the pages with such God glorifying, Christ-exalting, gospel honoring, cross-proclaiming words that that the hardest heart would melt like warm butter on a hot roll, then the allegory is still head and shoulders above everything I read this year. In fact, writing about it has got me thinking about it so much (i type a lot slower than i used to) that I’m thinking I might just read it again.

    Sorry for rambling, dear friend. May the Lord Christ continue to bless and keep you, your family, and everyone you touch with your writing.

    your friend and brother,
    jjc

    1. I love Pilgrim’s Progress and The Holy War – two must-read books for Christian readers, IMHO. :)

      Thanks for the encouragement, Pastor Cardwell. God bless you and keep you; know that you and your family remain constantly in my family’s prayers.

  23. Congratulations,Corey! Sorry I’m a bit late – forgetfulness must run in the blogging community, eh? At least, that’s what we’ll blame it on. ;-)

    I think my very favorite book I’ve so far this year has to be the Book Thief. Absolutely phenomenal characters. I mean, Death as a character? Far out. =) There’s far too many others: The Dune Series, for one, which is a Sci-Fi series; the classics, as always…yeah. Won’t go any longer, because this could take all night.

    God bless!

    Allison

    1. Terrific choice, Allison. The Book Thief is one of my all-time favorite novels. Amazing story, amazing characters, amazing writing… did I say amazing?

      Haven’t read the Dune series, but I hear the first book is a must-read for sci-fi buffs. It’ll arrive on my shelf one of these days, I’m sure… :)

  24. Eeep! Congrats on two years of blogging, and here’s to many more! Keep it up!
    My available blogging time has been sadly limited lately, but though I rarely comment, I love reading your posts!

    Favorite book I’ve read this year? Well….it seems that blogging time isn’t the only thing that’s been limited lately. As it stands, the only books I’ve read this year are the Bible, college textbooks, and Firmament: Radialloy by Grace Pennington. ;) The Bible always stands as my favorite book, but following, Radialloy beats all the others I’ve read this year.

  25. Congrats on your site-birthday!

    I don’t believe I can pick just one. Really. :) But somewhere up there at the top is The Island of the World (by Michael O’Brien) — I plan to write a review for that one soon.

    And Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry. And Your God Is Too Safe by Mark Buchanan.

    And A Deceit To Die For by Luke Montgomery. It’s a quite fascinating contemporary thriller about Islam that weaves in a lot of history and uncovers the story behind the Gospel of Barnabas. I think you’d really appreciate it.

    1. No worries – I didn’t really expect people (especially the avid readers) to pick just one favorite book. :)

      I’ve never read anything by Wendell Berry (yet), and Buchanan’s book has been on my TBR pile for some time. I’m jotting down the titles of the books you mentioned… even though my reading list will probably outlive me. ;)

Comments are closed.