Flotsam & Jetsam (9/27)

The Best Way to Come to Christ – Beautiful.

Five Bad Ideas Birthed From Fear – I love this. R.C. writes, “Consequentialism is no way to make moral decisions. And arguing the awful consequences of not doing so is just begging the question. God promises that if we obey Him He will bless. If not, He will curse. We don’t have access to the future. We do have the law of God. Ours is not to strategize, but to obey.”

Purity and Gospel Motivation – Good stuff from Persis. Very good stuff, indeed.

Mumford & the Son – Being the ardent fan of Mumford & Sons that I am, I really enjoyed this piece by Kevin Emmert, who dubs their lyrics “Christ-haunted.” Now is that a neat description or what?

Doodling in the Sand – A thought-provoking word from Carl Trueman: “How many of us have kept quiet on issues because of the fear of offending a friend?  Or because of the potential for upsetting the big names on whom some rely for public profile and media access?”

Hysterical Artifact – The Sacred Sandwich striketh againeth!

Peter’s Angel – I realize I’m a bit late on this, but… Aubrey Hansen’s new book is finally available for sale, in paperback and eBook format. I haven’t read it yet, but if Aubrey’s debut is any indication, it ought to be good.

A Tall Tree and a Short Rope – Douglas Wilson nails it. As usual.

Rand Paul’s Lonely Filibuster – A stellar piece from Bryana Johnson. Whenever I hear the word “filibuster,” I can’t help but remember that iconic scene from Mr. Smith Goes to Washington.

“Among those whom I like or admire, I can find no common denominator, but among those whom I love, I can; all of them make me laugh.” – W.H. Auden

6 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (9/27)”

  1. Loving the Auden quote. So much. And I shared the Spurgeon one. I do so enjoy your consistent stream of marvelous quotations. :)

    And yes about Dr. Smith Goes To Washington — congress really is that epic. My sisters and I stream c-span over the internet sometimes when congress is in session and it’s like a classic movie. The Rand Filibuster certainly was. Have you read Arguing About Slavery (William Miller). My sister wrote a review for it last year over at our political website: http://www.thehightide.com/2/post/2011/10/arguing-about-slavery-by-william-lee-miller-the-lost-history-of-the-congressional-civil-rights-battles-that-paved-the-way-for-the-american-civil-war.html — Such a great book about some very momentous congressional debates.

  2. Five Bad Ideas… Just thinking out loud…if you were a Dutch Christian hiding Jews in your outhouse, as opposed to getting in the Germans’ faces…was that incrementalism? When Obadiah quietly maintained prophets of Yahweh, instead of just getting in the faces of Ahab and Jezebel, was he being an incrementalist? So if I vote for Romney because I think that by doing so some temporal lives might be saved…that the bloodgates might start to close???

    I know wise and godly men on both sides of some of these issues.

    PB

    1. Good questions, Pastor. It’s still an issue I’m studying – and like you, I greatly respect men on both sides – but I believe my primary aversion to Romney is that he supports the killing of the unborn. As Sproul noted, “I’m not voting for Romney, not because he’s Mormon, but because he supports abortion.”

      And then you have the commenter who observed, “Hmmm, they both sound like pretty good reasons to me.” :)

Leave a Reply

