On the Bookshelf IX

Ten Ways to Destroy the Imagination of Your Child by Anthony Esolen
I finished this only yesterday, and here’s my verdict: WOW. Loved it from start to finish, and couldn’t help but wonder why I hadn’t read it sooner. Definitely a top contender for best non-fiction book I’ve read this year. The title is slightly misleading, though: this isn’t a book just for parents. Anybody and everybody (with a brain) can benefit from Esolen’s shrewd writing and profound insight.
Bone, Vol. 1: Out from Boneville by Jeff Smith
My interest in graphic novels has grown significantly over the past year, so I’ve been compiling a list of titles to check out. Bone – a massive, critically-acclaimed nine-volume fantasy epic – was at the top of my list. From what I’ve read, it’s sort of like Lord of the Rings with a humorous twist. And I’m already loving the artwork. Unique and eye-catching.
Public Enemies by Bryan Burrough
The story of America’s greatest crime wave and the birth of the FBI. I watched Michael Mann’s film adaption last year and was impressed; so naturally, when I realized it was based on a book, I went snooping – in a good kind of way. My copy should arrive in the mail this morning. Awesome.
Why We’re Not Emergent: By Two Guys Who Should Be by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck
“You can be young, passionate about Jesus Christ, surrounded by diversity, engaged in a postmodern world, reared in evangelicalism and not be an emergent Christian. In fact, I want to argue that it would be better if you weren’t.” Of all the books currently on my bookshelf, this is probably the one I’m most excited about.
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
I’ve heard so much about this book that I figured it was time to give it a read. It’s been recommended by several people I greatly respect, including my Mom. Besides, she wants me to watch the movie with her. I’d best get cracking.
Lit!: A Christian Guide to Reading Books by Tony Reinke
Another book I can’t wait to dig into. I love Andrew Peterson’s recommendation: “Tony Reinke has made a wise, theological, and edifying case for why words matter. I’ll mention Lit! every time someone asks me why in the world Christians should read fiction – a question that never fails to shock me. Now, instead of snapping, ‘Are you serious?’ and spouting opinions, I’ll just smile and slip them a copy of this book.”

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

20 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf IX”

  1. I shall be especially interested in your thoughts on Lit!–that sounds intriguing–and the graphic novel. I love the manga art style, but finding clean graphic novels is difficult.

    I’m currently reading a lot of fiction set in the Revolutionary War era as research for my alternate history novel. Pretty much anything I can find, even kid’s books. Besides that I have a few novels on my Kindle I’m eager to read–Duncan’s War (Christian hic fic), Jenna’s Cowboy (Christian romance–which I’ve never read before), Hazardous Duty (Christian cozy mystery–also a new genre), and Saving Sailor (also Christian hic fic). I’m reading the Crown & Covenant series because I want to read Douglas Bond’s colonial series which comes after, so I figure I’d do Crown & Covenant first. The others were Kindle freebies that had potential; I want to read Hazardous Duty because I hope to write cozy mysteries myself one day.

    I’ve been reading quite a bit lately. You’d be so proud of me. ;) I just finished The Telling by Mike Duran, which is Christian thriller/horror.

    Random but related, have you ever considered joining Goodreads? I’d love to track your reading on a site like that. :D

    1. Douglas Bond is a superb writer – his finest work being The Betrayal, which is one of the best pieces of historical fiction I’ve read. You simply must check it out.

      I think I’ve heard of The Telling before… what did you think of it? If you like thrillers, I recommend you read Randy Alcorn’s Deception. It’s head-and-shoulders above the rest of the “Christian fiction” crowd. Thoughtful, intense, unpredictable, and grittily down-to-earth. Awesome stuff.

      I’ve considered joining Goodreads, but since I already have an account with Shelfari, it seems like it would be a redundant move on my part. Still thinking about it, though…

      1. I’m definitely interested in Bond’s other books. I hope to work through most of them.

        “The Telling” was entertaining. The characters & description were vibrant and the plot was interesting, so it was a fun read. But there were a few flaws in the climax which kept the theme from driving home, so it didn’t really resonate. It was fun, and I recommend it for a teen audience that doesn’t mind a little horror (it’s not extreme), but it wasn’t impacting. I shall look that other book up! I’m reading more thrillers and some light horror to branch out.

        Well, the reason I suggest Goodreads is ’cause I’m on there. ;) You read a lot of interesting stuff, so I’d love to follow your reads more easily. But I’m just being selfish. ;)

  2. If you like graphic novels, I can’t recommend the Invincible series enough. It’s a typical super-hero comic, but it’s very well written (same guy that does The Walking Dead), and it goes into some surprising directions. Amazon has great prices on the Ultimate Collection hardcovers, of which there are seven. Artwork’s great too.

  3. I’m just finishing up The God Who Is There by D.A. Carson, and The Reformers and Puritans as Spiritual Mentors, by Michael Haykin. Next up, is Always Ready, by Greg Bahnsen. Also reading The Tenant of Wildfell Hall, by Anne Bronte. Glad you enjoyed the Esolen book. I loved it. You will love the DeYoun/Kluck book.

  4. Great list, the last one looks quite interesting.

    Currently reading:

    Plot Versus Character: A Balanced Approach to Writing Great Fiction – Jeff Gerke

    The Invisible Hand – R. C. Sproul

    The Justification of God – John Piper

    And I hope to start on Odd Hours by Dean Koontz soon, it’s the fourth book in the Odd Thomas series. The fifth one just came out yesterday so I’m behind and have been devouring the series lately. I just have to acquire a copy…

    By the way, have you see that The Twelve by Justin Cronin is coming out on October 16th? I saw the book trailer and believe this will be epic.

    1. Yes, sir – I’ve been keeping tabs on Justin Cronin ever since I read The Passage last year. I’m super excited about the sequel… wonder which one of us will get to it first? ;)

  5. I keep hearing great things about Lit! I haven’t been inclined toward it since I already love reading, but I might need to give it a go.

    The Help was a really good story but had some bad language. I haven’t seen the movie yet.

    I just finished The Horse and His Boy, Not By Chance, and Roots (the last via audiobook).

    1. I think Lit! is a good book to read, regardless of whether one is already a reader or not. I’ve read multiple reviews of it by fellow bibliophiles, and they loved it. :)

      I’m enjoying The Help so far; I hear the movie is just as good (some say better).

Leave a Reply

