Soundtrack Review: The Dark Knight Rises

The Dark Knight Rises
(Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
Composer: Hans Zimmer
Running Time: 50 min.
Released: 2012
Opinion Stars: ★★★★★

I’ve been a Zimmer fan boy for years now, and if you ask me why, I might just punch you in the face; because contrary to popular opinion, there is such a thing as a stupid question, and that is one. Now, moving on… To say that I eagerly awaited the release of this score would be an understatement of staggering proportions. I was counting down the weeks, the days, the hours and the minutes. Well, the waiting is over now. It’s finally here. Finally. No more waiting. The score for The Dark Knight Rises has been unleashed on the world – and it’s bigger, bolder, and better than I could ever have imagined. Let’s see if I still know how to spell masterpiece

A Storm Is Coming starts the album off in a suitably ominous fashion, and is followed shortly by Gotham’s Reckoning, a track dominated by driving percussion, dissonant strings, and chanting choir – Bane’s theme, I’m guessing, and a memorable one at that. The Fire Rises is an explosive action queue with a heavy layer of electronica toward the end, hearkening back to Zimmer’s work on InceptionWhy Do We Fall? is purely stunning, a magnificent crescendo of strings and drums that culminates in a stirring rendition of the Batman theme. Then there’s Imagine the Fire, which is so dang epic it defies description. It is, without a doubt, one of the best pieces of action music I’ve ever heard. Ever. The seven-minute Rise ends the score on a heroic, but undeniably tragic note. Feel free to let your imagination run wild as you consider what that means for the conclusion of Nolan’s film.

Buy the MP3 album on iTunes or Amazon.com.

18 thoughts on “Soundtrack Review: The Dark Knight Rises”

  1. I usually try to avoid new movie soundtracks because the names can sometimes spoil the movie so I have not listened to much of this yet. Also I have avoid any possible spoilers and trailers for the movie. From the early reviews of The Dark Knight Rises is looking good, but not as good as The Dark Knight.

    -James

    1. Personally, I think Rises is going to be the best Batman film yet, and if anyone can pull that off, Nolan can. I’m not putting much stock in Rotten Tomatoes right now… some of the critics on there wouldn’t know a good film if it smacked them in the face. :)

  2. I was just listening to samples from this yesterday. From what I heard it’s pretty awesome and from what I read it’s even better. :D

  3. So why do you like Zimmer so much? ;-) Seriously though, I listened to the samples for this yesterday, I just might need to pick up a copy now. :D

  4. When I invite people into the office for a chat I like to run ‘Fear will Find You’ in the background. It sets a certain tone :-)

Leave a Reply

