Flotsam & Jetsam (5/24) – 505 Edition

There’s lots to read today, so take your time. But before you start picking through all this sensational linkage, it pleases me to annouce that this is offficially my 505th post. My sincere thanks to everyone who has followed this blog, whether from its inception or only recently – I hope I haven’t ruined any outfits. Ink slinging can be a messy business. If you’ve encountered anything of value here, to God be the glory. If not, well… I think you know who to blame. Now on with the show!

Spinning In the Fog – I love this. “It is not what I believe in my head, but in my heart that keeps me going, and keeps me still.”

Eleven Ways to Hurt Your Local Church – The first of three (superb) posts by my Mom. Once you’ve read that, part 2 and part 3 are also available.

Thoughts on The Hunger Games – As many of you know, I’ve read, enjoyed, and written about Suzanne Collins’ bestselling dystopian trilogy. Persis shares her thoughts on the subject, and I appreciate her level-headed approach. I think you will, too.

Five for Life – Another great book list from Michael Wright. Sheesh. He’s killing my to-be-read pile… which is both a good thing and a dangerous thing. Might be fatal if it fell on me.

Dinesh D’Souza on the Genetic Fallacy – Shared by Matt at Well Spent Journey: “Essentially John Loftus said that we can’t really know if a religion is true, because there happen to be many of them. If you happen to be born in Afghanistan, you’d be a Muslim. If you happen to be born in Tibet, you’d be a Buddhist.”

Public Policy and the Ouija Board – This is the weirdest thing I’ve read all week.

Silicon Wolfpack – I’ve mentioned this blog before, but I figured, “Why not again?” If you enjoy bizarre fantasy packed with interesting characters, fun action, and wry humor, I suggest you follow this guy’s work.

Gabriel: Zero Point – This excellent Sci-fi novella is currently free on Kindle format. If you like science fiction and good storytelling, I’d take advantage of the offer. (There is some language, so I’d recommend it for older readers).

Prometheus – To say I can’t wait to see this would be an understatement.

A Cure for Lame Table Prayers – “I find it easy to slip into vague gratefulness, and vague gratefulness is as hollow as a light bulb. Mostly I notice this at the dinner table with my family. The vague verbiage I speak over our food is a reflection of my vague thoughts about God and his provisions spread across the table.”

“I often wonder if God recognizes His own son the way we’ve dressed Him up, or is it dressed Him down? He’s regular peppermint stick now, all sugar crystal and saccharine – when He isn’t making veiled references to certain commercial products that ever worshiper absolutely needs.” ~ Ray Bradbury

22 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (5/24) – 505 Edition”

  1. Excellent choices, as always. Love the first and the last the best. And, Ink, I pray that your to-be-read pile does not ever topple. Knowing you, it might bury your entire family alive. Just think, we would then have to call for a bulldozer to dig you all out. :-)

      1. It’s ‘Sluggah’ my friend. The A and the H are emphasized to from the Ah. :D *throws head back in roaring maniacal laughter*

  2. Thanks for reminding me about the Hunger Games post Persis did. I haven’t read the books (not really the kind of books I’m interested in myself) but my 17 year old son read the first one and just didn’t like it. It’s good to hear lots of balanced views.

    1. You’re welcome! :) The Hunger Games is one of my favorite series, and I’ve read many, many articles about it – Persis’ is one of the best. She’s quite balanced in her approach, and avoids extremes.

  3. “If you’ve encountered anything of value here, to God be the glory. If not, well…If you’ve encountered anything of value here, to God be the glory. If not, well…”

    I half expected you to say to that “to God be the glory” too. ;) You know, keeps you humble and all that.

Leave a Reply

