Flotsam & Jetsam (5/22)

“… in reality, the tree is holding us.” – A beautiful excerpt from Dustin Shramek’s Suffering and the Sovereignty of God.

Book Giveaway: Total Truth – Persis is giving away Nancy Pearcey’s book for the month of May. (I’m being nice here, since fewer entries means I have a better chance of winning.)

Reel Quick – Click here to read my review of Michael Mann’s The Insider (1999).

Mark Zuckerberg and the Biblical Meaning of Success – From Hugh Whelchel: “[W]e base our definition of success on whether we have cultivated and invested our God-given talents and, by faith, taken advantage of divine opportunities to use them – whether we have been given one, two, or five talents.”

Avengers Panel – A bit of superhero humor from the ever funny Eddie Eddings.

So What Are Parables? – Kim Shay writes, “The parables are told with the purpose of generating a response. They teach by aiming for a reaction from the hearers. Fee and Stuart liken it to the telling of a joke. We won’t get a joke if we have no familiarity with the points of reference.”

No Unity Without A Fight – A word from Phil Johnson.

“I love money. I love everything about it. I bought some pretty good stuff. Got me a $300 pair of socks. Got a fur sink. An electric dog polisher. A gasoline powered turtleneck sweater. And, of course, I bought some dumb stuff, too.” ~ Steve Martin

4 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (5/22)”

    1. No problem – your post was perfect F&J fodder, so thank you. :) I stumbled across the quote yesterday and thought to myself, “I know just what to do with that…” :)

Leave a Reply

