On the Bookshelf VI

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
I just finished this, actually. It’s either one of the best novels I’ve ever read… or it’s one of the best novels I’ve ever read. They call ’em classics for a reason, and this one is no exception.
Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl by N.D. Wilson
“Wide-eyed wonder in God’s spoken world.” My copy should arrive in the mail today, and I’m itching to get my hands on it. Also, just to give you heads-up, I’ll be writing a guest review of it later this month for Quieted Waters. Keep your eyes peeled… there will be a giveaway, too.
Winter’s Bone by Daniel Woodrell
I watched the movie last year and enjoyed it tremendously. While running errands in town last week, I was pleasantly surprised to find a copy of the original novel at the library. It’s a good story, so far. Bleak and gritty, too.
All Quiet On the Western Front by Eric Maria Remarque
This is supposedly “the greatest war novel of all time.” Hmmm. That’s a pretty lofty claim, so I’m suspending judgment until I’ve finished the book; at any rate, it looks to be a fascinating and provocative read.
A Place to Stand by Gene Edward Veith, Jr.
A relatively short biography of the great German reformer, Martin Luther. Veith writes in his typical straightforward and engaging style, and the book promises to be every bit as good as the other installments of the Leaders In Action series.

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

32 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf VI”

  1. Hmmm, currently reading Hunger Games before I unleash my pre-teen on it. (and enjoying it way more than I probably should.) Just finished two by T.L. Hines (particular fave, “Walking Lazarus”). Looking forward to new Christopher Moore and Lee Child (gotta love Reacher!!)

      1. The author, Lee Child, actually wrote them with a very loose narrative thread that runs through them but you don’t NEED to read them in order. (Killing Floor is #1) A couple of my favorites are The Hard Way, 61 Hours, and Persuader.

    1. It was a somewhat dark, particularly toward the end, but therein lies a large part of the novel’s potency. It was wonderfully written, too. I’ll definitely be reading more of Fitzgerald’s work. :D

      1. I would love to read his books, but from what I can tell he has some more mature themes in the ones I own. I’ve already had to stop 1984 and I don’t want that to happen again. I think I am more afraid of being disappointed and left with a bad taste in my mouth.

  2. Oh I loved Notes from the Tilt-A-Whirl. At the time I read it, it was a refreshing train of thought.

    I’m reading “For the Life of the World”, by Fr. Alexander Schmemann, an Orthodox priest. Very interesting. Given to me by a teacher who was concerned I was forgetting my Orthodox heritage, we’ll see if he succeeds. :)

    Oh, and Phineas Redux by Anthony Trollope. Part of the Palliser series. Excellent author, Jane Austen, but almost, dare I say, better? He’s a bit darker though, halfway between Dickens and Austen with an understanding of the British Parliamentary system and a penchant for realistic endings that can be happy.

    And of course, still Gibbon’s Decline and Fall. :)

  3. The only new book I finished was Pirate King by Laurie R. King. This is a part of the Mary Russell, wife of Sherlock Holmes, series, which I have enjoyed. Holmes purists may not approve of Sherlock having a wife but all’s fair in love and fiction. This was much lighter than her previous books but rather entertaining. It involves the investigation of a film company making a film about a film company making a film of the Pirates of Penzance who happen to encounter real pirates during the filming of the film. Makes perfect sense, no? The plot is almost Inception-like in its layers.

    1. Oh yes, Persis – makes perfect sense. I’ve got it all figured out… I think… ;) I love the original Sherlock Holmes stories, but I’m not sure I’d consider myself a purist; as evidenced by the fact that I thoroughly enjoyed Guy Ritchie’s latest film, which takes quite a few liberties with the stories, characters, etc. Awesome stuff, though. :)

  4. Gatsby’s a good one for sure. I believe there’s a movie version featuring DiCaprio coming out sometime soon…

    As for myself, I just finished “Born to Run” (as a runner, I had a few issues with some of the author’s assertions…but it told a pretty engaging story) and am just now starting “Ivanhoe”.

    1. I’m looking forward to the movie adaption. DiCaprio should be perfect, methinks. :) Ivanhoe is a good one; if you enjoy that, be sure to check out Rob Roy, also by Scott. It’s just as good, if not better.

  5. That’s an interesting looking list! I haven’t read any of them, though I’ve considered “The Great Gatsby”. If it’s as good as you say, maybe I should read it! :D Are you planning a review on that one at all?

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

  6. You asked my favorite question!

    Grudems Systematic Theology – Wayne Grudem

    The Truth About The Lordship of Christ – John MacArthur

    The Invisible Hand – R. C. Sproul

    And a couple of commentaries for a new blog series .

    The Stand – Stephen King

    The Martian Chronicles – Ray Bradbury

    The Andromeda Strain – Michael Crichton

      1. So far, while there is a large amount of objectionable content, I’m hooked. It’s huge, (over 1,100 pages) so it’ll take me a little while to finish, but I still look forward to finishing it. (Even though I know how it ends, because I saw the miniseries.) As for Martian Chronicles that looks awesome, and I’ll probably start that next.

  7. The Supremacy of Christ in a Postmodern World by Keller, Driscoll, Carson, Piper and others.
    Almost done.
    Heavy and revealing works. Not fond of B.V’s part.
    I’m looking for alignment with Biblical emphasis as I read.
    I also look for common themes that follow Biblical Emphasis.
    We have theology, then we have Biblical Emphasis in theology.
    Most Evangelicals agree on the most vital aspects of the Faith.
    Lack of theologically accurate Biblical Emphasis seems to be our biggest problem.
    I have enjoyed reading the thoughts of several contributors as they all attempt to answer the same question.
    I like connecting the dots I.S.
    Give it a shot , but write down your thoughts and post them for us if you do. : )
    C.C.T.

    1. I own that book, actually. :D Started it a couple of years ago, but never finished it. I should make a point to read through it all the way this time. Glad to hear you’re enjoying it! :)

  8. – Heretics by G. K. Chesterton
    – Orthodoxy by G. K. Chesterton
    – Sidelights on Relativity by Albert Einstein
    – World Without End by Ken Follett
    – Animal Farm by George Orwell
    – Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare
    – A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare
    – Hamlet by William Shakespeare
    – Athera’s Dawn by Christopher Hopper
    – Timescape by Robert Liparulo
    – Night by Ellie Weisel (sp?)

    Currently Reading
    – 1984 by George Orwell
    – Forbidden by Ted Dekker

    1. Animal Farm is satire at its very best, and of course, the Bard is always good reading. :) Night is on my TBR; for that matter, so is 1984, which I plan on reading in the next month or so.

      Thanks for sharing, Pathfinder! :D

  9. I always love book review blogs. I don’t have time or space for everything that’s on my bookshelf, but I’m currently reading The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest. I’ve really enjoyed that series, and this one looks as though it will be just as intense. I recently read The Hunger Games, and have Catching Fire waiting on the shelf. Since I’m at work, I can’t remember what else is on the burner to read soon. A lot of books about baseball, I think. :-)

    1. Posts about books and reading are always fun to read (and write!). :) Catching Fire is a great sequel. My personal favorite is actually book 3, Mockingjay. It’s rather darker than the previous two books (and conisderably more violent), but it’s a masterful climax.

Leave a Reply

