ABC Award Ceremony

Like the blogger who nominated me, I usually don’t do these award thingys. Just not my cuppa. But when I saw this one – and realized that it didn’t involve follower-mongering or asinine blog stunts – I figured, “What the heck? This could be fun.”

And it was. So without further adieu, here are the rules for this award:

1. Thank the person who nominated you:
Thank you very much to Chief of the Least for the Awesome Blog Content nomination. I found your blog through Pastor Cardwell at Justification By Grace, and reading it has been a blessing, an encouragement, an inspiration, and a source of humor. God bless!

2. There is no limit to how many fellow bloggers you can nominate:
Gosh. That being the case, I encourage you to check out the Sites of Interest page. All of the blogs and websites listed there are worthy of your attention. Off-hand, however, here are a few I recommend:

  • Tried With Fire – Persis describes herself as “a Christian homeschooling mom, medical transcriptionist, amateur theologue, very amateur writer, house bunny owner, and crafter.” All correct, except there’s nothing amateur about her.
  • Made Free – I’ve known Michael Wright for just over a year now, and he’s one of those guys I’d love to meet and talk to in person. He’s a Christian with a passion for good writing, good reading, good music, and good coffee.
  • The Good Life – You might say I’m biased (it is my Mom’s blog after all) and you’d be right; but you’d also be silly not to check it out. My Mom taught me the good stuff I know about writing. I picked up the bad stuff all by myself.
  • Justification By Grace – Two things: if you aren’t reading Pastor Cardwell’s blog, you’re missing out big time. And if you haven’t read his book Christ and Him Crucified, you’re also missing out big time.
  • Aubrey Hansen – Aubrey is a world-builder, Pixar-geek, and self-published author. She’s got a super sense of humor, too. She has a new book coming out this summer.

3. Share some things about yourself alphabetically:
OK then. I’ll try to do this without totally unveiling my semi-mysterious persona or weirding you out. Feel free to laugh, guffaw, or join the Club of Awesome People. Your choice.

  • A – “Amazing Grace! How sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now am found, Was blind but now I see.”
  • CCormac McCarthy, one of my favorite writers and the author of my favorite novel. If I could write fiction like he does, and write non-fiction like Carl Trueman does, I’d be the happiest of Ink Slingers.
  • DDebate. I like to start ’em, participate in ’em, and read ’em. Last year, that tendency got me in trouble and I had a smack-down with an atheist. Here’s what I learned.
  • E – “Elementary, my dear Watson!” You got it: I’m a Sherlock Holmes junkie. (And every true Sherlockian knows that the previously quoted line never appeared in the original stories.)
  • FFlotsam & Jetsam. I’ve been gathering it for over a year now, and it’s been tons of fun. I mean, what’s not to like about catching and sharing great links from all around the blogosphere?
  • GGod’s Grace. I truly am nothing without it.
  • HThe Hunger Games. I’m a big fan. The books were phenomenal, and now a movie adaption is hitting theaters this weekend, March 23rd. It’s getting high marks from critics and fans alike so far. And that’s always a good sign.
  • I  – Italian food. My favorite.
  • JJust because texting lingo is the norm doesn’t mean I have to use it or like it… because I don’t and I don’t, respectively. I have only used it one time in my life – and that was so I could make fun of it.
  • KKlingon. I don’t speak it, but I’m fairly sure my baby brother does.
  • MMusic, one of God’s greatest gifts to mankind. Give me Hans Zimmer, J.S. Bach, and Isaac Watts. Ludovico Einaudi would be nice, too. And John Williams. And James Newton Howard. And Chopin. And John Powell. And…
  • OOrson Scott Card. H.G. Wells. Isaac Asimov. Ray Bradbury. Douglas Adams. Michael Crichton. I plead guilty to the charge of being a Sci-Fi buff.
  • QQi. One of my favorite Scrabble words, because it doesn’t require a u after the q. Qat and qintar and qasida are pretty sweet, too. You’re welcome.
  • RReviewer. I write book reviews here and movie reviews here. I also contribute to Into the Book and The Film Dissectors. Be my guest and check ’em out. If you like what you see, follow. Even better, follow and leave a comment.
  • TTricks. Here’s a cool one: Think of a number. Double it. Add six. Half it. Take away the number you started with. Your answer is three. (Now figure out how I did that)
  • UUnderhill. You know his identity if you’re a Tolkien fan.
  • VVacuous. If you’re unfamiliar with the word, it means empty or lacking in thought. Synonyms include half-baked, inane, and Rob Bell’s theology.
  • XXenocide. It’s the third book in the Enderverse series, which I’m currently reading. Right now I’m immersed in Speaker for the Dead.
  • Y – “Yuck.” My reaction to tofu, sparkly vampires, and heavy metal.
  • ZZombies. I have an ardent interest in them. And depending on who you ask, that either means I’m pretty cool or in need of therapy.
28 thoughts on “ABC Award Ceremony”

  1. Reblogged this on Justification by Grace and commented:
    My dear brother,Corey Poff, as most who read my blog knows, is one my favorite people in the wide, wide world. As he has already been nominated for the ABC Award by our mutual blogging friend and brother, chief of the least, I will just have to reblog his post here…. and possibly enter his award ceremony later… as I must prepare for a meeting. Caio 4 now, Adieu 2 you. Adios till next post.

      1. There are some soap opera moments, but then again, how else would I get my wife to watch a show about zombies? Last night had less talking and more zombie slaying than any WD show so far though…

  2. Loved this. Thanks for the links to some blogs that I hadn’t discovered yet (except your mother’s of course). Now if you can just get your mom to put a “like” button on her posts I would be clicking it frequently like I do yours.

  3. Because I’m your Mama, I can get mushy in the comment box. (If I didn’t, you’d wonder if it was really me.) Great post, my dear son. I love you, and I love your sense of humor. I love the grace you show me every day in our home, and I love your passion for words. Of all the mothers in the world God could have chosen to be your Mom, He chose me. Go figure. This chief of sinners gets you and all of your siblings to teach and train and love here on earth for His glory. You know I can’t be quiet without giving you a blessing…may you love the LORD with all your heart, soul, mind, and strength and walk faithfully with Him all the days of your life.

    Mushiness over. :)

  4. Awesome post. Thank you very much for the mention. You’re on my list of people to meet in person as well. (Perhaps over a cup of coffee.)

    Also, thanks for “qi” that is going into my armory of words when I’m battling my sister at Scrabble.

    Random thought here, who doesn’t associate the letter “Z” with zombies?

    Definitely liked the “V” definition, “V for Vendetta” would have fit there too. :D

  5. I, too, thank you for the mention and the compliment. Your posts are always interesting. This one stands out as one of the most entertaining and personal.

    …it’s me, Eddie! The reason the “lazarus2” comes up in WordPress is because once upon a time I started to do another blog I called “Everything Calvinistic”. I couldn’t continue it so I dropped it like a zombie penguin in an ice storm.

    1. Hiya Eddie! No worries – I’d recognize that helmet anywhere. :D CC blipped across my radar about a year ago and it’s been one of my favorite haunts ever since. Keep up the great work!

  6. Dear Ink Slinger,

    In a heated “words with friends”. My opponent is my precious daughter, who has beaten me several games in a row. If I win with one of your “Q” words, I’ll owe you an italian dinner (and it will be our little secret:).

    Gratefully, Charisse

  7. This was a really fun post to read! E was one of my favorites and as to your Q words… I had to go look those up! I hadn’t ever heard of them before! My dictionary didn’t have Qat or Qasida though… :D

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    1. Thanks, Rebekah! Glad you enjoyed it. I take it you’re a true Sherlockian, then? :D

      Also, from Dictionary.com:
      Qasida – an Arabic poem, usually in monorhyme, that may be satirical, elegiac, threatening, or laudatory.
      Qat – an evergreen shrub of Arabia and Africa, the leaves of which are used as a narcotic when chewed or made into a beverage.

      1. lol Absolutely! Mr. Holmes is one of my favorite literary characters! :D

        Thanks for the definitions! I didn’t think to look at Dictionary.com. I think that my brain seemed to determine that if one dictionary didn’t have the answer, all the others must be the same. :p

        To the KING be all the glory!
        Rebekah

  8. Congratulations on your ABC Award!
    As the originator of this award you may be interested to know that I have now set up a Facebook group for all bloggers who have been given the ABC Award – a place for you to meet new bloggers, and share and support each other. You can join the group here:
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/ABCaward/?bookmark_t=group
    Please also let any other bloggers, that you know have been given the award, know about this group too – then we can all ‘spread the word’
    I have also set up a Facebook page – the ABC Award – where you can now add links to all of your blog posts and writing – share your work with a new audience, gain new readers, and find out what other ABC Award bloggers are writing about.
    You can find the page here:
    https://www.facebook.com/ABCaward?bookmark_t=page
    Just ‘like’ the page and get started – and do let all your blog readers know about this page – I believe that all of our blogs can only be improved by letting our readers know about other blogs – that way you will also have new readers discover you too!
    Happy blogging – and congratulations again on the ABC Award – you’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

