On the Bookshelf II


The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett
The first book in the Discworld series. I’ve only read one of Pratchett’s other works (Pyramids), but that was enough to get me hooked: his writing is delightful, his imagination boundless, and his sense of humor deliciously clever. I’m only a few pages in and I’m already laughing.
Doc: A Novel by Mary Doria Russell
Historical fiction revolving around the life of John Henry “Doc” Holliday. I haven’t actually begun reading this one yet, as I’m waiting to pick up a copy at the library. It’s been recommended to me multiple times, and has garnered quite a bit of critical praise, so I figured it might be good to look into. If it proves worthwhile, I’ll do a full-length review of it in the future.
Of Plymouth Plantation by William Bradford
A classic I was bound to get around to sooner or later. It is now being worked through as a family read-aloud, and we’re all enjoying it very much.
Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
Another classic. It’s… interesting. I can’t say I love it, and there are times when the story lags, but it offers quite a bit to think about – some good and sometimes not-so-good. My favorite “monster” story is still Stevenson’s The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde, so I’ll be interested in comparing the two when I’m finished.
100 Short Stories by Ray Bradbury
Bradbury is far and away one of my favorite storytellers, so I was delighted to find a giant collection of his short fiction at Barnes & Noble. I’ve covered about ten of the stories so far. Some are thought-provoking, some are funny, some are poignant – all of them are a joy to read.
An Exposition of Philippians by D.A. Carson
What can I say? I love D.A. Carson. My only regret is that I haven’t read more of him. I’ll definitely have to remedy that…

What’s on your bookshelf right now?

15 thoughts on “On the Bookshelf II”

  1. Great selections, Corey, looks like some interesting reading there. I’ll have to add some to my TBR list.

    What’s on my shelf?

    Um…

    A Dark Matter – Peter Straub, so far I’m not impressed, but if might surprise me. If not in the next hundred pages, it’s going back to the library unfinished.

    So Great Salvation – Charles Ryrie, a friend recommended it to me, and I have found it interesting, though it’s mainly a response to MacArthur’s “Gospel According to Jesus”.

    John: The St. Andrews Commentary Series – R.C. Sproul, just ordered a copy and can’t wait to receive it.

    NT Greek For Beginners – J. Gresham Machen, I’m expecting this in the mail soon, using this in tandem with some free courses off of iTunes U from DTS should help me get a head start.

      1. In several areas he is, bit also seems to be an effort go clarify some things that may be misunderstood about the non-lordship position. He’s not making a case for easy-believism, to his credit, but I am inclined to disagree with him in some areas of his arguments. Aside from that it has proved to be an interesting read.

  2. I’m almost finished Josiah’s Reformation by Richard Sibbes and Knowing Scripture by R.C. Sproul. I just started In Christ Alone by Sinclair Ferguson. I may actually read the Osteen book just to formulate a solid Biblical argument against this trash that poses as “Christian”. John Paton’s autobiography is on the “to read” list, and Knox’s Irregulars is on our “to get” list.

    I’ve read The Color of Magic but it didn’t click with me. Maybe I’m getting old. ;-)

    1. Knowing Scripture and In Christ Alone are both on my TBR list. I hope you’ll write reviews of them both when you’re finished. :)

      (Glad to hear Knox’s Irregulars made it onto your “to-get” list)

  3. I always thought that I read fast! You go through books twice as fast as I do!!

    I’m still reading the books I last posted about on my blog… granted, I haven’t spent much time on them though. Maybe when I’ve finished the first draft of my book… :)

    To the KING be all the glory!
    Rebekah

    1. Oh, I haven’t finished all of the books I listed last time around; I’m still working through a couple of them (they’re school reads, so I have to stick to the schedule). I just figured I’d mention the new additions to my shelf. :D

  4. What an interesting list. I’ve been happily slogging through The Two Towers and now that I’m finished other fiction will seem light and easy. I’m looking forward to zipping through a few more books before the end of the year. On the bookshelf: War Horse and Sir Gawain and the Green Knight (both by Michael Morpurgo)

  5. Just yesterday I was *trying* to figure out how many books I’ve read this year. I haven’t kept a list, and now I’m regretting it. Most recently I read Elizabeth Prentiss’ book Stepping Heavenward, which I received for my birthday, and it confirmed to me that she is, indeed, my favorite author. :) Let’s see, then I finished last week the excellent Sugar Blues by William Dufty. Ouch. I’ve been off sugar for more than a year, but that was enough to scare me into an even stricter watch. (one doesn’t realize how much of something they eat until they realize that they can’t have it!)
    My most recent novel read was Michael Bond’s Monsieur Pamplemousse Investigates, which is a humorous mystery, very well written. I’d like to get my hands on his other books of that series.
    Oh, and I read Mother by Kathleen Norris -for the umpteenth time- this week. That’s definitely a classic. :)

  6. I loved Frankenstein when I read it last year, mostly because I empathized with the monster. Though his actions later in the book made it hard to take his side.

    I picked up The Color of Magic for a buck from the NOOK store a while back but haven’t gotten to it yet. My sister’s a huge Discworld fan, though she says the later books are better.

  7. I really want to do a books read/going to read post now! :D Your list looks interesting, though I actually have not read any of those, except Of Plymouth Plantation, which I’m pretty sure I read years ago. I need to start keeping a list again… :P :)

Leave a Reply

