Reformation Day 2011

“Your Imperial Majesty and Your Lordships demand a simple answer. Here it is, plain and unvarnished. Unless I am convicted of error by the testimony of Scripture or (since I put no trust in the unsupported authority of Pope or councils, since it is plain that they have often erred and often contradicted themselves) by manifest reasoning, I stand convicted by the Scriptures to which I have appealed, and my conscience is taken captive by God’s word. I cannot and will not recant anything, for to act against our conscience is neither safe for us, nor open to us. On this I take my stand. I can do no other. God help me. Amen.”

~ Martin Luther

9 thoughts on “Reformation Day 2011”

  1. With alll the Emergents around, our turn to repeat Luther’s stand might come sooner thank we think, although not many of us, could translate the bible into German … well maybe you can, can you?

Leave a Reply

