Theological Intoxication

“If we pursue theological knowledge for its own sake, it is bound to go bad on us. It will make us proud and conceited. The very greatness of the subject matter will intoxicate us, and we shall come to think of ourselves as a cut above other Christians because of our interest in it and grasp of it… [We must be] interested in truth and orthodoxy, in biblical teaching and theology, not as ends to themselves, but as means to further ends of life and godliness.”

~ J.I. Packer, Knowing God (Ch. 1, pp. 21, 22)

7 thoughts on “Theological Intoxication”

  1. Yep, good quote, I’ve often been accused of this, by Christians who seem to have little interest in acquiring theological knowledge. I’m aware of the danger of coming across as proud, conceited and arrogant, but then I’m aware that the more I know, the more I realise how little I know, and how much there is still to learn, and how pathetically lax and indisciplined I am…

Leave a Reply

