One Year

It’s official: today, September 29th, 2011, is the one year birthday of the Ink Slinger blog. And you know what? Soli Deo Gloria.

I enjoy writing. I enjoy reading. I enjoy sharing about what I write and what I read. This blog has been a superb outlet for that. I am also a Christian, redeemed by grace, and as such, I am commanded “to do all to the glory of God” (1 Cor. 10:31). That includes writing. So I guess you could say my mission is to bring every ink blot captive to the obedience of Christ. And that, I think, is a pretty awesome assignment – certainly cooler than anything James Bond ever got to do.

But there’s more…

In honor of the fact that I have been able to survive (and thrive) in the blogosphere for one whole year, I’m gonna do what every blogger does: I’m gonna host a giveaway. Sure, I won’t get any points for originality, but hey, it’s a tried and true method for celebrating something special, right? So sit back, relax, and listen up.

To participate in the giveaway, all you have to do is leave a comment on this post, sharing the title of the best book you’ve read so far this year; do that, and your name will automatically be entered for the drawing. Simple, right?

Featured in this giveaway are two of the best books I’ve read so far this year, one fiction and one non-fiction: Markus Zusak’s The Book Thief and Kenneth Meyer’s All God’s Children and Blue Suede Shoes. The winner of the giveaway will receive a copy of both of these books. (Shipping to U.S. addresses only)

The giveaway will end at 12:00 P.M. (Mountain Time) of Thursday, October 6th. Then the winner will be announced.

Losers will be rounded up and shot. Just kidding.

41 thoughts on “One Year”

  1. One of the best books I’ve read this years was “The Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck. It is the one that has stuck with me the most, I guess.

    So what was that about the shooting part? :-)

  2. Congrats on your one year! I truly enjoy your blog. I am glad to have found it.

    One of the best books that I have read this year is Christ Formed in You by Brian Hedges. Great book, if not best book on sanctification and spiritual growth.

  3. And we all sing “Happy Birthday” and give you a whole cake to eat by yourself (because that’s what you do for first birthdays).

    I think my favorite book so far this year that I’ve read is Biblical Solutions To Contemporary Problems by Rus Walton, carried by the Plymouth Rock Foundation. He’s a forgotten Rushdoony, in my opinion. My other favorite book was Apostasy from the Gospel by John Owen.

    Now, I’m going to stay off your blog until the giveaway is well over, because even with brothers in the house, I still don’t cotton to being shot.

    1. Oh, toughen up, CG! Stand against that wall and take it like a – um, never mind. ;)

      And I strongly dislike cake, unless it’s cheese or carrot cake. So unless you can find one of those, a pie will have to do… though I’d be afraid that you’d throw it at me instead of handing it to me nicely. ;)

      1. Hurrah, I’m not the only one in the world who hat–er, I mean, dislikes cake. Although I don’t like carrot cake either. Good ol’ Texas chocolate fudge for me, any day. And I won’t throw a pie at you if you promise not to shoot me…..
        ‘Cause I wouldn’t want to waste a perfectly good pie!

  4. Hmm, one of the best books I read this year…. Probably “Anonomous Tip” and “Guilt by Association” by Mike Farris. Good, good books.

    :croses fingers and hopes that she wins so that she can live another year….:
    :D

  5. What if i can’t decide on one favorite book? I don’t want to lose or be shot either. Okay, Bunyan’s Grace Abounding. No, I think it’s Piper’s Spectacular Sins. Nope, Staci Eastin’s The Organized Heart. Na, Piper’s The Hidden Smile of God. I give up! But I want to win!!!

  6. Congrats on your blog birthday!

    As to my favorite book – it’s a toss up between The True Bounds of Christian Freedom by Samuel Bolton and The World Tilting Gospel by Dan Phillips. But if I had to choose, it would be Dan’s book.

    As for fiction, Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters of course. :)

      1. S&S&SM won’t make sense (no pun intended) without reading the original. Which of course is far better than the remake even if it doesn’t contain pirates, giant squid, and killer jelly fish.

  7. Waugh! 12 moons is it … an rit tween the harvest moon and the hunters moon. Seems to fit acordin to me. Rite proud of you son! Not many of us ol’ timers can claim to have miny sons atall, much less one who kin throw a hawk an knife wif de best of dem, or shoot a can offn a head at 50 paces. Nope! youv demonstrated time an agin that you kin rondyvoo wit de best of dem. But, you also know dat you kin do nuttin without the Lord! Nope! No suree, without the Lord you r nuttin.
    As fer me favorit book. Aint had much time to read, what wit de great hawl of beaver plew these passt few months. But wood haf to say “Blood & Thunder”. Its a perty good tale of de opening of the west and me ol trapper buddy, Kit Carson. Not so impresive compaird to sum of dees pilgrims, but agin greenhorns seem to have more time fer reedin. An afer you start reachin fer yer smokepole, I highly recommend dat you look round and make sher dat sumbody aint alreddy got de drop on you! Waaaaaugh! Watch yer topknot pard.

  8. Cheesecake! You have good tastes. Howzabout a slice of good ole plain New York style?

    Congratulations on your Blogging Anniversary! May God use your blog for many more years to come!

    The best book I’ve read this year has been “Angel Fall” by Coleman Luck, hands down. Of course, I haven’t really read much this year besides unpublished/WIP-things from my peers… but that book was unforgettable.

  9. Happy Blog B-day!

    The best book I have read this year (I’m still reading it) is “God’s War on Terror – Islam, Prophecy and the Bible” by Walid Shoebat. It’s an from Eastern perspective written by an ex-Muslim terrorist.
    Thank God I downloaded it on my Kindle because you wouldn’t want to be caught with a book like this in Kuwait!

    …and speaking of Kindle, there is a freebie out there entitled “Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl Written by Herself” that is well worth reading.
    Another free one, for pure entertainment, is “Superheroes – The Best of Philosophy and Pop Culture.”

    …by the way, I do have a U.S. address…just in case.

    1. Thank you, Mr. Eddiings! So glad you stopped by! And yeah, I can understand why you wouldn’t want to waltz around Q8 with a book like that. Very nifty, those Kindles. :)

      And thanks for the heads-up about those free books. I downloaded them both and will try to incorporate them into my reading rotation. :)

  10. Best book read in last year…Bible.

    Read a whole book in the last year??? Uhhhmmmm…maybe a couple of Louis Lamours. And the first volume of EJ Young on Isaiah. Other than that…haven’t reached that milestone. Did spend a day with Calvin, Turretin, Bavinck; dead theologians can be good and edifying company. MacArthur. Motyer on Philippians, Isaiah and James – very irenic. Augustine’s City of God. Lots of good reading, but little finished cover to cover.

    Don’t bother putting me in the drawing. I’ve got the Myers already, and whatever I might win will go at the back end of a verrrry long line.

    Christ’s blessings on you.

  11. Hi Corey, Congratulations on a terrific blog. It’s one of the few I read on a regular basis. I don’t want to be put in the drawing for the books, but I wanted to mention my favorite of the year so far: The Fellowship of the Ring.

  12. Ok, wait.. you actually expect me to REMEMBER what books I’ve read this year? I think I must be suffering from a very mild sort of amensia…. argh . What books HAVE I read this year??? (puttering down to my room to see my book list) Aha! Ok, so in all seriousness, my favorite book thus far is “Disciple” by Juan Carlos Ortiz. Definitely an AMAZING book with TONS of food for thought. I’ll probably be reading it again because I’ll more than likely learn lots still!

    Thanks for hosting this! :)

Leave a Reply

