Soundtrack Review: Kung Fu Panda 2

Kung Fu Panda 2
(Music from the Motion Picture)
Composers: Hans Zimmer & John Powell
Running Time: 60 min.
Released: 2011

 

 

Hans Zimmer and John Powell’s collaborative effort on Kung Fu Panda 2 is one of the best film scores of the year. Period. Hands-down. No argument. Brimming with creativity and gusto, it’s a lush musical ride full of vibrancy, adventure, emotion, and fun. I mean, come on: this is Zimmer and Powell we’re talking about here. Can you think of a more awesome combination when it comes to film music?

There’s not a single bad track on the entire album, which means you’re better off just buying the whole thing. Nevertheless, here are some standouts: Ancient China/Story of Shen is the opening cue, effectively showcasing the marriage of eastern and western styles and instrumentation that characterizes the rest of the score. Stealth Mode creeps along with playful ease, while Rickshaw Chase zips forward at full-throttle, hardly pausing for breath. Po Finds the Truth is the most emotionally-charged piece, and possibly the most memorable. The climax of the album is undoubtedly Zen Ball Master, a seven-and-a-half minute action cue with a brilliant incorporation of the main theme.

Buy the MP3 album on iTunes or Amazon.com.

8 thoughts on “Soundtrack Review: Kung Fu Panda 2”

    1. That’s exactly what I thought when I saw you wrote them, too. :)

      I’m glad you’ve been enjoying the soundtrack – I’ve listened to it I don’t know how many times, and it still hasn’t gotten old. And that’s what good music is all about, right? :)

  1. We will have to look them up. We all enjoy Hans Zimmer. Have you listened to the Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack? Someone recommended it to us for a cleaning house CD and we have all thoroughly enjoyed it! (Even though we haven’t watched the movies. :D) If you have heard them, they are pretty good. Josh and I really like the Kraken.

    OK, putting Kung Fu Panda 2 soundtrack on my to-buy list! :)

    1. Haha! Well, I haven’t seen the movie yet – and I’m generally not a fan of sequels – but I’ve heard that this one is actually better than its predecessor (which I enjoyed). You’re right, of course: even if the film turns out to be a flop, at least the music is awesome. :D

  2. Love the fact that you do sound track reviews too. The music is beautiful and really amazing I love the depth of Zimmer and Powells music. Epic music for an epic movie. Thanks for the doing the review I really liked reading it.

    Jessica

    1. Thank you, Jessica! I’m glad you appreciate Zimmer and Powell’s music, too – they’re two of my favorite composers. I have yet to see the movie (KFP2), but I’m looking forward to when it comes out on DVD. :)

      Thanks for taking the time to drop by!

Leave a Reply

