Flotsam & Jetsam: 9/11 Edition

9/11 Ten Years Later – You can download the special September edition of Tabletalkmagazine for free by clicking the link.

The Full Picture – Christie Blatchford of the National Post asks, “… how is it possible that the critical element of the day known as 9/11 – that it was a deliberate attack by Islamic death stars upon civilians living in one of the most vibrant and diverse democracies in the world – and the single most important people, the city’s beloved firefighters, have been forgotten, or if not quite that, then elbowed aside, in modern parlance, marginalized? How can that possibly have happened?”

In My Seat – Very, very powerful. [HT Challies]

A Responsive Reading for 9/11 – From Ray Ortlund.

New York’s Post-9/11 Boom – John Starke writes, “Churches everywhere in the city saw new faces on September 16. Lots of them. One report shows that 40 percent of the evangelical churches in New York as of December 2010 started since 2000. Only an estimated 3 percent of New York’s residents attend an evangelical church. Still, that figure has tripled since 1990. During one two-month period in the fall of 2009 one new evangelical church opened its doors every Sunday. The aftermath of 9/11 was a growth spurt for evangelicals in America’s largest city.”

A Prayer for 9/11 Ten Years Later – From Kevin DeYoung.

Reel Quick – Click here to read my review of Paul Greengrass’s United 93 – a powerful film that tells the story of the brave passengers and crew members who stopped the terrorists from carrying out their plans for the fourth hijacked plane on September 11, 2001. If you haven’t seen it, you should.

“A ‘god’ whose will is resisted, whose designs are frustrated, whose purpose is checkmated, possesses no title to Deity, and so far from being a fit object of worship, merits nought but contempt.” – A.W. Pink

7 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam: 9/11 Edition”

  1. Hi, Corey! In reply to your question about my British accent. The teacher, Miss Diamond, who taught me to read with a British accent started it all off by correcting the way I read the word “aunt.” I’ve always pronounced it more like “ant.” She interrupted me with: “No, no, no, not ‘ant’! An ant is a little creature that crawls on the ground! It’s AHNT!”

    To this day I can slip back into a British accent with ease, especially if I’ve just watched a whole movie full of British accents. As you may know, I’m a voice-over artist, and I’m occasionally asked to do a spot in my British accent. If you’d like to hear one, go here and scroll down the demo’s until you see “British accent.”

    What doesn’t make sense is that my daughter, who has never lived around British people, can do a spot-on British, Irish, AND Scottish accent! (Yes, she differentiates between the Irish and the Scottish!) She is apparently just a natural mimic, and has picked it up from movies and the like.

    Sorry for writing a tome! :)

    1. I have to envy your daughter for the Irish accent. I try and try, but I can only do it when I’m singing or when I’m quoting an Irishman. :sigh: But British is pretty easy to do.

      Great links, Corey. I remember that day—some ways it seems like just three years ago instead of ten. :)

      1. @Mrs. S: Very cool. That’s funny your daughter picked all three accents up naturally. I bet the Scottish accent is awesome. :)

        @CG: It is indeed hard to believe that so much time has passed since then.

Leave a Reply

