Wolf (Short Story)

It’s been a goal of mine to write fiction ever since I realized how fun ink-slinging was. This week, I took a step in that direction and tried my hand at writing a short story. It was a lot of fun, I can tell you. Michael Wright was kind enough to feature it as a guest post on Novel Idea, so if you’re interested, you can click here to read it. Thoughts, opinions, and critiques would be greatly appreciated (I particularly curious to know how the ending affected you).

The story is, first and foremost, bizarre. And that’s part of the fun of it. It’s based on a tale that I heard while at a rendezvous one year. It intrigued me, and I wanted to see if I could take a few brief sentences and make a full-fledged short story out of them. I altered certain details and added new ones altogether, but the basic premise is the same.

And of course, having dabbled in the medium of the short story, the first thing that inevitably comes to my mind is a quote by master storyteller Ray Bradbury:

It is hard for me to believe that in one lifetime I have written so many stories. But on the other hand I often wonder what other writers do with their time. Writing, for me, is akin to breathing. It is not something I plan or schedule; it’s something I just do.

***Do NOT read the comments on this post until you
have read the story yourself, as there may be spoilers.***
13 thoughts on “Wolf (Short Story)”

  1. You did a very good job! Once again, your writing skills amaze me! I think that quote definitely applies to you. =D

    Great job and can’t wait to see what else you come up with!

    1. Thank you, Sarah. I’ve got a few other story ideas up my sleeve, so we’ll have to see what else I can come up with… :)

      I think that Bradbury quote applies to pretty much writer, aspiring or established. Glad you liked it. :)

    1. “How did the guy get shot? He wasn’t the ‘wolf’ was he?” – exactly the question I want the reader to ask himself/herself. I’m trying to mess with your head. :)

      “Where did he come from?” – do you really want to know? ;)

      “What did he have for lunch?” – nothing. He died before lunchtime. :)

      “Did he like Russian music?” – from Van Helsing’s bestselling book, Werewolves & You: “The musical tastes of the werewolf are, as yet, unknown. But we think he’s partial to Tchaikovsky.” :)

  2. Very interesting story, Corey! Historically I haven’t been a huge fan of fantasy, but I like your story. You’re a great writer and you have such a great vocabulary! I look forward to seeing more stories. Keep it up!

  3. Great descriptive writing! The dude was sleepy and moonlight can play tricks on one’s eyes. Just because it looks like a wolf… and so forth. So, are you going to leave us hanging or will there be more? :-)

    1. Actually, the story was meant to toy with the legend of the werewolf. Henry shot a wolf… but why did he find a man’s body? :)

      Yeah, I know, it’s weird. But then again, I’m kinda weird. So I guess it all fits. :D

Leave a Reply

