Pottery Barn’s Large Collector Shelf: Knock-Off Style

Sometimes it’s good for an aspiring writer to do something with his hands other than sling ink all over the place. So…

For my first serious excursion into woodworking and carpentry – skills which I hope to pursue – I wanted a project that was fairly straightforward, yet not too easy.

Enter Pottery Barn’s Large Collector Shelf (top, above photo). This slick piece of wall-mounted decor is priced at $62.00 on the PB website. Cool, but rather on the expensive side, if you ask me.

Which is why we decided to make one instead.

My cut list included two 1×6 @ 36″ (back/bottom), two 1×6 @ 9″ (sides), and two 1×2 @ 37 1/2″ (ledge/rail). The primary tools I used in building the shelf were pretty basic: a cordless drill, handsaw, clamps, measuring tape, wood glue, a sanding block, wood putty, and a handful of screws.  Of course, it was nice to have Dad’s Skil-saw and dremmel tool on hand, too.

After the pieces were measured and cut to length, pilot holes were drilled and the screws put in (along with some wood glue and putty). Then I used the dremmel tool and some sandpaper to soften the edges and even things up a bit. The half-finished result was…

Two coats of fresh white paint resulted in…

Enter Pottery Barn’s Large Collector Shelf: Knock-Off Style. Total cost? $10.00 worth of materials and 4 hrs. of my time (plus multiple splinters). Not bad. Not bad at all.

I’m not sure which project is up next, but Dad just informed me that he wants a tie-rack. I’ll take it as a hint.

24 thoughts on “Pottery Barn’s Large Collector Shelf: Knock-Off Style”

  1. Nice work. Having good tools on hand it s a major help as well, we found that out through a few remodeling projects. Hope your other projects turn out as well.

          1. Don’t ask me! I’ve never made one! :D Maybe you’re right………come to think of it, you probably are. OK, never mind. :D

  2. What a great job. All the shelves look great, and I like the colors. The good Lord has blessed
    you with so many talents. Look forward to see what else you decide to make. Proud of
    you.

    MEMAW

  3. Nice Job! Being able to work with your hands is a great thing to know. Especially as a man who will have a house to take care of someday. :)
    Neat idea to do a list of materials. I am showing this to Josh. :D I can’t wait to see what else you will be doing!

Leave a Reply

