Flotsam & Jetsam (8/4)

The Worldview & Witchcraft of Harry Potter – A helpful article from the folks at Movieology. ” What needs to be addressed is whether or not Harry Potter and the Bible are referring to the same things when they use the words “witchcraft” and “sorcery.” What does the Bible mean when it speaks of these things?”

Hermenuetics 101 – Great stuff! When you’re finished reading that, follow it up with this.

Reel Quick – Click here to read my review of Black Death (2010), a historically-rooted supernatural thriller that rails against Christianity and paganism… but offers nothing in return.

Wednesday’s World of Work: Enter Here – Now this is pretty cool, even though I don’t have a link to contribute… yet. Hop on over and take a look!

Jaw-Dropping Crashes from Rally Finland – Wow. OK, how come I’m never allowed to take turns that fast?

Marking Books – There’s still something in me that objects to desecrating the spotless pages of a book with pen markings. I seriously need to get over it…

Silicon Wolfpack – A friend of mine started a blog, on which he’s posting a “webnovel”. So far, it’s humorous, interesting, creative, and just plain fun to read. I recommend you take a look.

Life’s Too Short… – Amen.

Open Letter to Mark Driscoll – By Frank Turk. “This open letter is actually… on one issue about which, as you have made clear in your video, someone like me will probably never agree with you. So I’ve settled on one letter only of excessive length, mostly to avoid
dragging the matter out over weeks and weeks of your admirers and my, um,
gadflies throwing rocks at each other.”

Out of the Heart – Great thoughts from Mike. “It’s not too far off to say that the world is right when it says that you follow your heart. Everyone does by default, that’s our problem. When our hearts are influenced by the sin around us and our hearts are corrupt, then the worst thing we can do is follow it, but this is all that the unregenerate mind knows.”

“Far better is it to dare mighty things, to win glorious
triumphs, even though checkered by failure… than to rank with those poor
spirits who neither enjoy nor suffer much, because they live in a gray twilight
that knows not victory nor defeat. ” ~ Teddy Roosevelt

 

14 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (8/4)”

  1. Hmm, maybe there is a good reason as to why you can’t take turns that quickly…. ;)

    Your friend is writing a very interesting book! I was only able to read little bits of it, but I plan to go back for more.

  2. Very good links. Thanks for mentioning Silicon Wolfpack. The top link was a thoughtful look at a much-argued issue, and I think that it was very well done. Good job finding it.

  3. What a set of great lists. I’ll have to come back to finish it. And thank you so much for the mention. I love how you put your ‘yet’ in there. :-)

  4. Interesting links, particular about HP and world view. I thought it was very well balanced given how Christians are lined up for and against.

    Thanks for adding my semi-complete hermeneutic notes. My handwriting became more and more illegible as the night went on. :-)

  5. To be quite honest, I quite disagree with Mr. Smith on his article on witchcraft. One of the points that he makes is that “in the Harry Potter world, magic is not supernatural. It is not in reference to some spirit or demon. Rather, magic is a natural phenomenon.”
    Is that true, and if so, does it make a difference? Are the children that read the books and see the movies going to be able to descern that ‘difference’? Do we suppose that when we stand before Almighty God and account for our actions, we shall unashamedly confess to enjoying witchcraft, since it was ‘not supernatural’? Even witches today do not claim to contact ‘demons’ since ‘demons’ are a Christian concept.
    As a former witch, I can speak with authority when I say that I have examined the works of Rowling and that the Harry Potter books are training manuals for the occult. Untold millions of young people are being taught to think, speak, dress and act like witches by filling their heads with the contents of these books. Children are obsessed with the Harry Potter books that they have left television and video games [which would be Dungeons&Dragons, Pokemon, etc] to read these witchcraft manuals. (from a testimony of an ex-witch)

    This is not an unusual claim. I have read account after account of this same thing happening. And we call this harmless fun? “It’s ‘just‘ magic after all.”
    Magic or Magick?
    Are we going to go so far as to claim that these books are harmless, just innocent fun? Disguised Christianity even?

    Witchcraft is breaking the first commandment. We can’t stretch Harry Potter to say that it’s an allegory, because it’s not! The author is not Christian, and she said herself that she studied Wicca to get inspiration. Many of the names found in Harry Potter are real names of demons that witches worship.

    The children speak for themselves.
    “It would be great to be a wizard because you could control situations and things like teachers.” Jeffrey, age 11. Case in point–manipulation is the nature of witchcraft. Witchcraft is thirst for power.

    “The books are very clever. I couldn’t put them down. When I was scared I made myself believe that it was supposed to be funny so I wasn’t so scared.” Nuray age 11.

    I have read a lot about demonic posession, witchcraft, etc…….one of my hobbies is studying the Salem Witch Trials, and my hero is an ex-occultist-turned pastor. So I’ve read a lot. :) I’m going to ask a witch-aqquaintance of mine about what she views Harry Potter as. I’m interested to see what she says.

    1. You make some excellent points, CG. I’m still not quite convinced that HP qualifies as profitable reading, but it’s an interesting debate nonetheless.

      Thanks for taking the time to leave such a thoughtful (and thought-provoking) comment. :)

      1. I’ve enjoyed the Harry Potter controversy myself, and have read a lot on it…….since supernatural warfare is an interest of mine, I guess your link hit one of my hot spots. ;)

  6. This is from a witch I talked to. She said that while you couldn’t pick up Harry Potter and practice magick using it as a guide, you certainly could get involved in real magick using the Potter series as a springboard.
    “some of the nuts and bolts in Harry potter make sense in my world . . the tools, the spells, etc.”

Leave a Reply

