Matthew Smith’s “Goodnight”

As you may or may not have noticed (depending on the frequency with which you read this blog), the Ink Slinger has been silent for the past week or so. The explanation?

My family received word that my Mom’s dad had been hospitalized and was not expected to live much longer. On the spur of the moment, we packed our bags and made a trip to VA to see him. God graciously allowed us to spend time with him before he passed away on Tuesday, June 14th.

In light of his death – and the fact that he was a believer – I think this song is most appropriate to share:

I journey forth rejoicing
From this dark vale of tears,
To heavenly joy and freedom,
From earthly bonds and fears;
Where Christ our Lord shall gather
All His redeemed again,
His kingdom to inherit.
Goodnight, goodnight till then!

Why thus so sadly weeping,
Beloved ones of my heart?
The Lord is good and gracious,
Though now He bids us part.
Oft have we met in gladness.
And we shall meet again,
All sorrow left behind us.
Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I go to see His glory,
Whom we have loved below:
I go, the blessed angels,
The holy saints to know.
Our lovely ones departed,
I go to find again,
And wait for you to join us.
Goodnight, goodnight till then!

I hear the Saviour calling,
The joyful hour has come:
The angel guards are ready
To guide me to our home,
Where Christ our Lord shall gather
All His redeemed again,
His kingdom to inherit.
Goodnight, goodnight till then!

(Click here to learn more about the song.)

7 thoughts on “Matthew Smith’s “Goodnight””

  1. Good to hear from you, Ink! Been missing you and your mom. I rejoice that God graciously allowed you some together time, that He drew your grandpa’s heart to Himself, and that He has kept your travel safe. My prayers are with you and your mom (and family). Thank you for sharing this beautiful and meaningful song!!

  2. I’m thankful God gave you some time with your grandfather before he went home.

    It was a joy to meet you and your mom, but I’m sorry it had to be under those circumstances. Continuing to pray for God’s comfort for you all.

  3. Yes, what a wonderfully sovereign, gracious God He is, that would allow that time together. Praying that His comfort would be with you and family.

  4. Our family is praying for y’all, Ink!! I wish your absence of blogosphere could have been for a different reason. How wonderful, though, that you were able to spend some time with him before be passed.
    My He hold you in His arms!!

    Sarah

Leave a Reply

