Flotsam & Jetsam (6/2)

Novel Idea: Theology In Fiction – Considering that much of modern “Christian” fiction is *cough* garbage unfit for human consumption, I think I’m really going to like this new blog, which aims at pairing solid theology with good writing. Hop over and take a look.

Book Review: Hard to Believe – On the subject of books…. here’s a review of one of John MacArthur’s books: “… it is a timely refute to the seeker-sensitive, user-friendly so called ‘gospel’ that is propagated today. What MacArthur calls ‘Christianity Lite’. ”

Weekly Dissections – Click here for my review of The Fellowship of the Ring (2001), here for Santiago’s review of Blood Diamond (2006), and here for Eric’s review of The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003).

Reel Quick Reviews – Click here to read my review of the latest film in the Narnia franchise, The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (2010).

Getting A Heterosexual’s Mind Right [Caution: Mature] – From Gary Demar: “Getting a person’s mind right has been the modus operandi of totalitarian regimes for millennia. The isolated and desolated gulag was the perfect place to get a person’s mind right under the Communists. George Orwell’s 1984 is a relentless tale of Winston getting his mind right. In the end, he loves Big Brother. Getting a person’s mind right is the latest tactic of the oppressive homosexual bosses with a compliant media at the ready to take up the homosexual cause.”

Book Weeding – An excellent and very helpful post by Persis on choosing the best of Christian books to read.

Thinking About Rick Warren & John Piper – Great thoughts from Tim Challies: “I love John Piper (I already said that, right?). I’m glad that he has risen to a position of leadership within the church. But this interview has not at all convinced me to retract what I believe about Rick Warren. I firmly believe that those who have respectfully offered measured critiques of Warren and his ministry—substantial and important critiques—have done so for good reason. And those reasons remain.”

Birthed from a Letter – Very awesome stuff.

PoMo the Bear – The Reformed Traveler shares an excellent bit of satire from the Sacred Sandwich. And when you’re done looking at that, be sure to read this.

1-800-Dial-a-Trial – If you haven’t read this yet, you need to. “My heart is deceitful, and if left to myself, I wouldn’t put myself in the Refiner’s Fire. I’d want the growth without the pain. I’d want to bear fruit without any pruning. I’d want maturity without sacrifice. I’d want purity without flames.”

Five Ways to Improve Your Gathering With the Body – Gregg over at Gospel-Driven Disciples writes, “Not only do I continue to discover how reticent believers are about gathering together in a designated corporate service, I continue to find how unsatisfied they have become with their corporate worship service. Not only do I find this tragic for individual believers but how this must grieve the God whom we have come to worship.”

TV Idol – Sad, funny, clever… and so true.

“Life is tough, but it’s tougher when
you’re stupid.” ~ John Wayne

13 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (6/2)”

  1. Hey, thanks for including my book review over in there. Also, thanks for a start at spreading the word for “Theology In Fiction” I really appreciate it. Great links.

  2. Have been over catching up on your posts since computer problems. Great links, Ink. Had to share the Sacred Sandwich on FB. Very good!

  3. Hi Corey
    My surgeon said something like that about being stupid. I need to go back and
    re-read a lot of that, when I feel better. I still need to read the last three books
    of Lemony Snicket. I haven’t read too much since I’m been in the hospital.
    Love you lots.

Leave a Reply

