“A Fish Out of Water”

I caught a herring long ago,
And kept him in some H2O
I strained his water every day
Till all the salt was drained away.
And so I taught the little chap
To live in water from the tap.
Each afternoon I took about
A thimbleful of water out
Till – though his needs were always small
He got along with none at all!
Gentle of heart and soft of roe
He followed where I chose to go.
One day he took a walk with me
Upon the pier at Brightlingsea
Alack he made a reckless bound
Slipped through a grating and was drowned!

~ G.H. Fabes


HT Hope @ Worthwhile Books

4 thoughts on ““A Fish Out of Water””

Leave a Reply

