Flotsam & Jetsam (4/18)

Bag End – Whenever I watch The Fellowship of the Ring (2001), I find myself wishing I had a Hobbit hole just like Bilbo Baggins. Apparently, a gent in Wales had the same wish… and made it come true. (HT Dan Phillips)

The *Real* Council of Elrond – Continuing with the LOTR theme… I don’t know where Persis found this, but I’m glad she did. Careful, you may suffer injury due to uncontrolled fits of laughter.

Heaven Revealed – A great review… and another book to add to my wishlist.

All At War – “… but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.” (Romans 7:23-25)

Not the Same Crowd – From Kevin DeYoung: “… the crowd on Palm Sunday welcoming Jesus with shouts of ‘Hosanna!’ is by and large not the same crowd on Good Friday that demands his death with shouts of ‘Crucify!'”

Primary – So far, it’s the best quote I’ve come across all week.

 “Righteous wrath is no less noble than love, since both
coexist in God.” ~ John MacArthur

6 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (4/18)”

  1. The wife and I both took a look at the hobbit hole and now we want one. Of course the federal government would never let us build it. There is no way, the land loonies would let us build into a hillside, the earthquake gurus wouldn’t permit it, structural police would strangle it, the animal rights people would worry about the worms, and the grubs and all our microscopic friends being displaced. So we would have to do it secretly, at night, with low beam flash lights and then the UFO crazies would think an invasion would take place. So how do we do it?

    1. Hmmm… well, you could just travel to Middle Earth and begin construction there. As far as I know, the Shire is pretty much devoid of land loonies, earthquake gurus, structural police, animal rights activists, and UFO crazies. :)

Leave a Reply

