eReaderdom

I have, it seems, joined the hallowed ranks of eReaderdom. I now own a Kindle.

No more flimsy paper pages. No more dilapidated bindings. No more bent up covers. No more ink smudges. No more paper cuts. No more highlighting favorite passages with antideluvian yellow markers. No more frantic scrambling to write down quotes. No more musty, bookish odors.

I am jumping on the bandwagon of progress. I am moving forward. eReaders are the future of reading.

All this to say: the more things change, the more things stay the same. I may own a Kindle, but it will never replace the books on my shelf.

I still love paper pages, crisp or worn. If the binding is dilapidated and the cover bent, I am happy so long as it means the book has been read frequently and with great relish. I can tolerate ink smudges and paper cuts; they’re no big deal in the scheme of things. As far as ancient yellow highlighters go, I am content. I still take notes in my commonplace notebook. And I want a cologne that smells like musty old books.

Nevertheless, there are advantages that come with an eReader, and I look forward to using mine, particularly as a portable library. Right now, I’m enjoying several P.G. Wodehouse titles, free of charge, while Tom Clancy’s The Hunt for Red October and G.K. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy are both on deck.

And if you’re wondering how a Kindle came into my possession, well…*cue Smeagol voice* “My birthday-present! It came to me on my birthday, my precious.”

16 thoughts on “eReaderdom”

  1. How fun! I hope you enjoy it! :)

    PLEASE! Do NOT quote Smeagol ever again. (Or I might not be on here ever again)…(in my life)… (my ENTIRE life, mind you)… (ever!)
    Otherwise, have a wonderful week. :D
    A feeling goofy RLH

  2. Very happy birthday to you, Inkslinger.

    I am getting closer to taking the Kindle plunge. However, nothing can substitute for real books IMHO.

    P.S. When Hunt for Red October was published, I was working for a defense contractor on a Trident-related project. Quite a number of Navy folks were wondering how Clancy got his information. So it’s a good and accurate book.

    1. Thank you, Persis!

      Cool! Thanks for the info! The Hunt for Red October is one of Dad’s favorite books (and movies). As a Navy veteran, he was impressed by the accuracy of Clancy’s book. I’ve only seen the film adaption, so I’m excited to read the original. :)

  3. Happy Birthday, Inkslinger.

    I agree with your post. Real books cannot be replaced, but the Kindle is a very useful tool, especially if you are in a hurry to read a book, if you don’t want to lose any books, and if you travel a lot and have limited space.

  4. Happy Birthday to you, belated I’m sure. I will stay with my books! I will probably never join the ranks of the ereader or ebooks unless some gifts me with one. I just love to hold, write in, talk to the author by notes, questions, and et. cetera. Glad you like yours!

    1. Actually, your (much appreciated) birthday wishes aren’t late at all. My actual birthday is about a week from now, but I received the Kindle early, so I could use it on the trip to the Ligonier conference.

      Thanks for stopping by! :)

  5. Happy Birthday! (¡Feliz Cumpleaños!)

    I am so happy you have a Kindle, I love mine, but I will never love it as much as I love reading paper books. Just the smell of paper and ink and my handwritten notes… *sigh*

  6. I love my kindle, but still read real books most of the time. I’m actually saving the books that are on it for when I return to Brazil and have less access to books in English. It’s like having a little safe deposit box of book treasures. =)

    1. There’s just something about the feel and smell of a real book that no eReader can match.

      That’s smart to save the books on your Kindle for when you depart for foreign regions. I guess an eReader comes is especially handy for traveling. :)

  7. Glad you received your Kindle for your birthday. — but can you high light when
    using your Kindle?? I know nothing about the Kindle. Glad you like your Kindle.

Leave a Reply

