Flotsam & Jetsam (2/24)

Cheap Grace – Eric Rauch shares how a lesson on mercy and grace was illustrated through… a Calvin and Hobbes cartoon. “This simple cartoon gave my son an illustration of what I was talking about, and it further helped him understand God’s mercy and grace to us through His Son. It also showed me how I often tend to ‘over-engineer’ the Bible with my kids.”

John Piper Runs Out Of People to Dedicate Books To – Funny stuff from Stephen Altrogg over at The Blazing Center: “Sometimes when I get bored I like to think about what the Christian headlines of the future will be. What will magazines like Christianity Today be saying in 25 years?”

Organizing the Bookcase – A very cool video, with very cool effects, and very cool music. (HT Challies)

Quarrelsome – “You don’t have to be a card-carrying member of the nice Nazis to believe that quarreling is wrong. You only have to believe the Bible (James 4:1). Hot-headed, divisive Christians are not pleasing to God (Proverbs 6:19). We are told to drive them out (22:10) and avoid such people (Rom. 16:17). This doesn’t mean we only huddle with the people we like. We are not talking about awkward folks or those who disagree with us. We are talking about quarrelsome Christians–habitually disagreeable, divisive, hot-headed church people.”

Boys Wrestling Girls – An excellent piece (one of the best I’ve read) on the recent controversy over Iowan Joel Northrup refusing to engage a girl in a wrestling match.

What Did Jesus (Not) Say About Truth and Love? – At the Pyromaniacs, Dan Phillips writes, “So would Jesus ever have tolerated a notion of love divorced from a specific, set doctrinal framework? Fantasy-Jesus, yes. Fantasy-Jesus thinks all sorts of things, largely things that will keep the world’s good graces. The actual Jesus, however, the one who really lived and lives — He would never have conceived of such a view.”

Papal Audience – Before you leave, why don’t you step this way for a moment and enjoy a laugh, courtesy of The Sacred Sandwich.

“God is not what you imagine or what you think you understand.
If you understand you have failed.”  ~ Saint Augustine

3 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (2/24)”

  1. Hi Inkslinger! Just wanted to let you know that once again, I’ve linked to you in my little book blog. I say “little” because I’m still struggling to attract readers to it! My other blog, Notes in the Key of Life, is more established and has a pretty good readership, but I seem to just have a handful of readers on the book blog.

    By the way–speaking of Pyromaniacs–it’s a point of a bit of pride for me that I’m on the blogroll there. Years ago, Phil Johnson and I were on a very crazy internet forum…and I even interviewed him a few times on my radio show. Am I cool or what? :)

    Have a blessed Sunday!

Leave a Reply

