Flotsam & Jetsam (2/10)

The Lighthearted Calvinist – Being a lover of movies and Reformed theology, something about this guy’s header really clicked for me. Maybe you can see why.

Reel Quick – Speaking of movies, I’ve reviewed 61 movies so far on my movie blog Reel Quick. Don’t ask me why 61 seems significant. It just does…

Nothing But Flowers – Beautiful thoughts on prayer: “God doesn’t answer our prayers because we pray perfectly—we don’t do anything perfectly on this side of eternity—but because He is merciful and just! It brings Him glory!”

A Striking Evidence – Persis shares an excellent quote from the second volume of D.A. Carson’s For the Love of God. She’s also hosting a giveaway of John Flavel’s The Mystery of Providence. You can enter here.

Skin Gun – Wow. This is like something from a futuristic sci-fi film. No kidding.

Inexhaustible – From my Mom: “[God’s grace] humbles us, strengthens us, encourages us, and reminds us we’re forgiven. It reminds us to lean hard on Jesus and not rely on our own strength or understanding. It reminds us we can do nothing in and of ourselves.”

Dude – No, I don’t drink Budlight… but this commercial is funny.

The Next Story – Tim Challies has a new book coming out – and it looks excellent! Order before the release date (April 1, 2011), and you’ll receive a signed copy.

Redwall – Brain Jacques, author of the acclaimed Redwall series, just passed away at the age of 71. Read five facts about this beloved fantasy writer here. And if you’ve never been immersed in Jacques luscious fantasy world, I highly recommend you borrow one of his books at the library.

Hermeneutical Gymnastics – R.C. Sproul shares his position on Creation. He states, “Genesis says that God created the universe and everything in it in six twenty-four-hour periods. According to the Reformation hermeneutic, the first option is to follow the plain sense of the text. One must do a great deal of hermeneutical gymnastics to escape the plain meaning of Genesis 1-2. The confession makes it a point of faith that God created the world in the space of six days.”

Light-Saber Battle – Fun, fun, fun.

“One morning I shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got
into my pajamas I’ll never know.” ~ Groucho Marx

5 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam (2/10)”

  1. I’ve not paid attention to the clever puns of Jeff’s header, and I swing by there a lot. Thanks! Now I’ll know where to go for good movie suggestions if I ever take the time to sit still for the length of one. :-) And what can I say but ‘Thank You’ (again) for the shout out and for picking the best posts of my blogger friends! I’m going to let you guess who my favorite is this time (no, not Dude!). :-) Blessings!

  2. You always amaze me with the depth of your posts. I tried to enter for the book, but
    for some reason it wouldn’t take my name. Oh well, I wouldn’t win anyway. The
    LIGHTHEARTED CALVINEST would be a good read, I guess, since I’m confused
    about it anyway – still. When we were growing up, my stepdad liked to watch Grocho(?) Marks. He was funny. Keep up with your posts. I do enjoy reading them even
    when they are over my head.

  3. Yes! You’ve finally been able to read them, now we can talk about them..a couple months ago finished his book the Sable Quean and because of Zwilt, a sable villian in the story, i added the sable to our animal list in our story…

Leave a Reply

