A Sample of My Reading List for 2011

Think by John Piper
Tearing Down Strongholds by R.C. Sproul, Jr.
Just Do Something by Kevin DeYoung
All God’s Children And Blue Suede Shoes by Kenneth A. Meyers
God In the Dock by C.S. Lewis
The Holiness of God by R.C. Sproul
Orthodoxy by G.K. Chesterton

Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand
Blood and Thunder by Hampton Sides
To End All Wars by Ernest Gordon
The Long Walk by Slavomir Rawicz
Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell

 

How To Survive A Robot Uprising by Daniel Wilson
The Code of the Woosters by P.G. Wodehouse
My Man Jeeves by P.G. Wodehouse
The Pickwick Papers by Charles Dickens

No Country For Old Men by Cormac McCarthy
Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
The Overton Window by Glenn Beck
The Lord of the Flies by William Golding
The Hound of the Baskervilles by Arthur Conan Doyle
A Study In Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle

Chaos Walking Trilogy by Patrick Ness
The Andromeda Strain by Michael Crichton
The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun by J.R.R. Tolkien
Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis

21 thoughts on “A Sample of My Reading List for 2011”

    1. Yeah, supposedly How To Survive A Robot Uprising is a pretty funny book… due in a great measure to the author’s serious tone. :)

      I love Doyle. His Holmes stories should be required reading… :)

  1. Wow, looks like an intense reading list.. however, spread all those books over a period of 365 days and it doesn’t seem so bad.. lol! I need to add some great books on my list, too. That is one of my goals.. to read more. *sigh*

    Happy New Year!!!

    In Christ’s Service,
    Sarah

    1. Hey Sarah! Thanks for the comment!

      Isn’t everybody’s goal to read more books? :)

      Yes, the list looks daunting initially… but when you consider there’s a whole year ahead, well, that sheds a new light on things.

      1. ‘Xactly! ;-) Knowing you, you can probably read through all those in record time. Reading books just isn’t my forte.. can’t seem to keep an interest for too long (not in the book itself, but in the reading.) When I sit down, I prefer to do something a little more productive. However, reading is good because you gain knowledge, so it isn’t like I am wasting my time. Just gotta think that way.. or, get books on CD and listen while I knit/crochet! Gotta love that modern technology! lol!

  2. That’s quite a list. I can’t wait to start the Piper book. Perhaps tomorrow after church.
    I must admit that I did not like Lord of the Flies when I read it years ago. In the light of total depravity, it makes perfect sense now.

    Happy reading.

    1. My Mom said it was all she could do not to keep Think for herself! :)

      I’m in the middle of Lord of the Flies right now, and I have to say I’m very impressed. Golding wasn’t a Christian (at least not that I know), but his depiction of man’s innate wickedness is spot on.

  3. You and I have a couple of prospective reads in common: No Country and Orthodoxy.

    You should enjoy The Andromeda Strain…I think I’ve read all of Crichton’s fiction, and it’s probably one of the best of them. Though I find he had a difficult time ending books well. (That didn’t stop me from continuing to read them, though.)

    I’ll also look forward to what you think of Lord of the Flies. I thought it was terrific, though not exactly cheery. But since we agreed on The Road, I think you’ll see past the bleakness.

    1. I’m almost finished with No Country for Old Men. It’s a superb book (though quite dark and violent), and I’ve enjoyed it almost as much as The Road. McCarthy has a knack for creating engaging stories that leave you with plenty to think about long after you’ve turned the final page. (The Coen brother’s film adaption is excellent as well, though still not as good as the book).

      Being the sci-fi buff that I am, I’m definitely anticipating The Andromeda Strain. Any other Crichton novels you’d especially recommend?

      I’m halfway through Lord of the Flies, and I already think it’s going to be one of the best pieces of fiction I’l read this year. I usually don’t have a problem with bleak or dark books so long as there’s a worthwhile message to be find.

      1. Timeline was good fun, though not high art or anything. I also really enjoyed Airframe. And you can’t go wrong with Jurassic Park.

        (His two non-sciency novels, The Great Train Robbery and Pirate Latitutes, were also a lot of fun.)

        If you’re a sci-fi guy, I have to put in my two bits for Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead, by Orson Scott Card (read EG first). Some of my favorite fiction.

        1. I’ve heard of Orson Scott Card, but never read anything by him. There’s a first time for everything, though, and I’ll definitely have to check those titles out. I’m intrigued…

    1. I watched the movie version of To End All Wars recently and thought it was pretty good; but then I read reviews saying that the book was so much better. So I thought, “Hmmm, better check this one out…”

      I’m really looking forward to reading Unbroken.

Leave a Reply

