Ain’t She Something?

So. I dropped off the earth two weeks ago without any sort of explanation. I can’t say if the tabloids erupted in speculation – Kidnapping? Aliens? Agent Smith from The Matrix? – but I’m sure for many it was something of a relief. “Geez. He finally shut up. Finally.”

For all ye faithful who enjoy my ink spattered exercises over here, I’m here to say that my absence was not caused by laziness or burnout or that terrifying but fictitious beast known as writer’s block. It was sudden, and I hope hitting the breaks didn’t give you whiplash, but as Calvin might say (while clutching his stuffed tiger Hobbes): “I can explain.”

And I’m thinking the best way to do that is with this picture:

Screen Shot 2013-12-19 at 12.31.25 AM

Yeah. That.

I had the best of reasons for disappearing, and her name is Alexandra. Some of you are already familiar with her writing. The past two weeks were spent with her family – such an amazing and wonderful family – and it delights me to say that she and I are now courting.

The details of how we met, as beautiful as they are, I’ll save for another time. Suffice it to say, this is the kind of thing Chesterton and Capon are on about when they speak of the divine sense of humor – unusual and unlooked-for and absolutely wonderful.

And as my man Sammie Johnson would put it, “Our brightest blazes of gladness are commonly kindled by unexpected sparks.”

(Also, not to brag or anything, but: I’ve got the universe beat in the Christmas Gifts Department. She’s a stunner.

Okay, so that was bragging.

But seriously.

She is.

I’m so very thankful for her.)

About the Ink Slinger

19 years young. Redeemed sinner. Compulsive reader. Avid writer. Very muchly in love with the most beautiful girl on the face of the earth.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Ain’t She Something?

  1. Glynn says:

    That’s some cool, Corey!

  2. BushMaid says:

    Yeah, kinda figured something was brewing via Instagram. ;)

    Congratulations to you both! I’m so very happy for you. May God continue to guide and bless you over this special time. :D

  3. Andrea says:

    Hey Corey!
    That’s some pretty awesome news =) Glad to hear you both are doing well! God bless you guys!

  4. Just says:

    Wow!’ WOW! Congrats! GOD IS SOOOO GREAT!!!

  5. And I’m so happy for you! :)

  6. That’s wonderful, brotha! :D

  7. Sarah says:

    So very exciting, Corey!!! Praying God blesses you both richly in this new and exciting time in your life. :-) (and yes, I think that is a really good excuse to be gone for a while… haha!)

Leave a Reply

