Flotsam & Jetsam

Book Giveaway: Three Free Sins – A review and giveaway over at Quieted Waters! Go check it out!

Abbott and Costello Meet the Church – Let’s get a bite of the Sandwich before moving on.

What Hollywood Gets Right & Wrong about Our Relationship to Nature – Pretty much the best examaination of The Lorax I’ve encountered so far. “While the movie presents a colorful, fun, and humorous romp, the environmentalist message of the film is anything but subtle.”

Waking up to New Mercies – This post reminds me of something G.K. Chesterton once said; namely, that “the world will never starve for want of wonders, but for want of wonder.”

Book Review: A Shot of Faith (to the Head) – Doug Wilson reviews Mitch Stokes’ book. It sounds terrific, and I’ve added it to my (ever-growing) to-be-read pile.

Justification (with Shai Linne) – Spare a mere 45 min. of your time to watch this video, and I assure you it will be well spent. (HT Charisse)

The Film Dissectors: Lockout – My full-length review of the film. “I regard Lockout as something of a ‘hit-and-miss,’ with tons of great potential and a dicey execution. It’s possibly worth renting when it comes out on DVD… but even then, I’d say there are better films to spend your time on.”

“Education Is for Life.” – Another book to read. Of one thing I am sure: when I die, it’ll be because my towering TBR list finally toppled on my head. Grisly, yes; but at least I’ll have the last word.

Five For Beginners – Michael Wright shares the first 5 theology/Christian living books he’d recommend. Included are such classics as The Holiness of God and Knowing God.

“The things that will destroy America are prosperity at any price, peace at any price, safety first instead of duty first and love of soft living and the get-rich-quick theory of life.” ~ Theodore Roosevelt

14 thoughts on “Flotsam & Jetsam”

  1. Hi Ink,
    While reading your comments about The Lorax (which I haven’t seen), I found myself wondering about your take on environmentalism/Global Warming, etc. Have you ever thought about doing a post on it? Personally, I don’t see why someone couldn’t be both a Christians and an environmentalist, but the religious right would tend to make one think otherwise. I’d like to hear your thoughts on it, if you’re ever inclined.

    Take care!

    1. Hey Nate! :) Hmmm, tricky issue. I’m all for enviromentalism… if by that you mean being good stewards of the earth God has blessed us with. But most people don’t mean “enviromentalism” that way. They take it much further. Nature is elevated above its proper place, and given preeminence. Hence the “tree-huggers” and the people who are more concerned about saving whales than about the slaughter of innocents in the local abortion clinic.

      As for being a Christian and an enviromentalist… if I ever encountered someone like that, I wouldn’t jump to questioning their salvation. I would, however, question their basis for getting involved in such a movement.

      I don’t wish to start a giant debate here, but that would indeed be an interesting subject to tackle in a post. :) *mulls it over*

      1. Well, if you ever decide to tackle it, I would be interested. I won’t dig into a big discussion of it here, because it wasn’t the intent of your original post. However, I’d be surprised if many environmentalists take that particular view of nature. I think they basically take the “being good stewards” position that you do, but they dedicate more time and effort to it. That’s why I don’t view it as running counter to Christianity.

        As far as how that compares to abortion, I don’t know why it would have to be an “either/or” issue. People who are pro-choice aren’t necessarily environmentalists, and people who are environmentalists aren’t necessarily pro-choice. Plus, those who are pro-choice aren’t for killing babies — they just have a different opinion about what constitutes human life, and they also believe that it’s a complicated issue since the mother’s life is involved as well.

        Thanks for the reply!

  2. Thanks for the link, Ink! (Rhyming is all about the timing.) =D

    Great food for thought in your links, as always.

  3. Dear Ink Slinger,

    That was thoughtful of you to share that Justification video:) It was certainly a blessing to me!!

    Blessings to you and yours, charisse

Leave a Reply

